A city wants to help teachers of high school students (aged 14-18) to improve their teaching. Which of the following plans do you think is better:

1. Select a small group of excellent teachers; these teachers will then attend training courses—led by experienced experts—on how to teach effectively. And when they return to their school, they will share the training with other teachers in their school.

2. Provide online training on how to teach effectively for all high school teachers.

What plans should a city adopt when it comes to improving high school education arouses a heated debate. Some people claim that selecting a small group of excellent teachers to attend training courses is the best method to improve educators' teaching, while others maintain that providing online training courses for all high school teachers is better. As far as I am concerned, I believe the first option is better. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, high school students usually have lots of homework and projects to do. Hence, high school teachers are usually busy, so adopting the first suggestion can help high school teachers save time and improve their teaching simultaneously. Take the city where I live, Taipei, as an example. The Taipei City government required 500 excellent high school lecturers in Taipei to attend an English training course to improve the average quality of English courses. Therefore, since most teacher did not attend, their precious time was not wasted. Furthermore, since these high school teachers could share English-teaching tips with others quickly. Accordingly, one research from the Taipei City government estimated that the average English teaching quality index improved drastically. Contrarily, the Kaohsiung City government decided to let all high school teachers attend an online training course about incorporating computer software into high school curriculums. Nevertheless, they wasted 8 hours per week on that training course. As a result, nearly 60% of the teachers complained that they did not have enough time to grade students' assignments, prepare for teaching materials, etc. So apparently, forcing every high school teacher to attend a training course is not an advisable idea.

In addition, high school students are exceptionally concerned about teaching materials. Thus, high school educators should always improve teaching materials, but attending online training courses will not help teachers improve their teaching materials. Take my brother's high school as an example. During the Covid-19 pandemic, the Hualien County government required all teachers to participate in an online training courses about adopting animations. To elaborate, the Ministry of Education hoped that every high school teacher can teach all subjects using self-made animations. Nevertheless, the network quality held by the Ministry of Education was too slow and fragile that from time to time, the Wifi infrastructure crashed for no reason. As a result, due to the poor quality of the course, these high school lecturers acquired only a little knowledge from the course, and three months later, the government's report indicated that eighty percent of high school teachers in Hualien County did not successfully incorporate animations into the classes. Contrarily, the Taichung City government decided to provide a similar training course physically, and it only required a few teacher to take part in. Consequently, these teachers could ask questions immediately when they had doubts. What', more. when these teachers acquired necessary skills, they could help their colleagues to build animation. Three months, the government did a poll on high school students, and 90% of the students were satisfied with the animations made by their teachers.

In conclusion, I maintain that the first method is the best way to improve high school teaching due to the aforementioned reasons.