Imagine that you have been given the opportunity to advise the government of a city or region (area) that you are familiar with to spend more money on ONE thing to benefit the city or region. Which ONE of these do you believe would be the most beneficial for the city or region? Why?

-Providing more affordable housing

-Reducing air and water pollution

-Attracting new businesses to the city or region

Nowadays, although our society has witnessed the unprecedented accumulation of material affluence, how to improve the life quality of the masses is still a hotly-discussed option among officials in government. Some people advocate providing more affordable housing to the poverty-stricken family, while others hold the opposite viewpoint that government should invest in reducing air and water pollution. If I were given the chance to implement a policy, I would definitely expend more money and energy on attracting new business to our city.

In the first place, appealing to more businesses in the city will generate more jobs for the citizens and thus improve people's living standards efficiently. With the mushrooming unemployment rate, the most effective way to grapple with this problem is to create more work positions for people. In this way, people are not only enabled to earn money directly, but significantly improve their well-being due to the welfare of the companies. For example, my hometown, Shandong province, allocated a large amount of money to attract new businesses when the employment rate stagnated. The government made some propaganda videos and implemented some policies that facilitate these new companies' development. Eventually, those enterprises provided more job positions to the residents. With more money, people are capable of purchasing more stuff that significantly improves their lives, and they also benefit from the thorough welfare policies of every company.

In addition, more businesses can greatly deliver benefits to the government as well. Government can receive more taxes from the new business and utilize the money to construct more infrastructures that improve people's life quality. All the money expended to attract new businesses will finally come back and this is a kind of recycling that helps the city become better. Take Shanghai as a prime example. At the beginning of the 20th century, the Shanghai government decided to attract more foreign businesses, with lots of factories and companies growing from the ground at that moment. The economy enormously increased, and the government collected more money from those enterprises. Most of the money was invested in fundamental facilities such as internet connections and highway traffic systems that benefit most of the citizens’ lives.

Admittedly, other policies also function well to some extent. Providing economical houses to the public can directly enhance the safety of people and ensure that more people are able to possess a place to live. Deducing the contamination is also conducive to people’s mental and physical health and benefits in a long term, ensure the quality of daily diet, decrease some serious illnesses such as lung cancer. Nevertheless, those policies can not be readily implemented without money and time. Making money is the prerequisite of any other policy, without which those policies can easily fail or stop disappointedly.

In a nutshell, attracting new businesses should be emphasized among all three options. New companies definitely pave the way for the development of the city and the improvement of people’s lives.