Social media is the best way to express personal views.

With the popularity and prevalence of social media, enormous people are prone to express their personal views on those platforms. A general controversy arises when people are discussing whether social media is the best channel for us to express ourselves. Some people label this type of communication the most superior choice. As far as I am concerned, I hardly concur with this belief, and what I state can be substantiated as follows.

Admittedly, social media provide us with ample opportunities to deliver our ideas and even enlarge our social circle. You can easily boast a large of friends when you make some remarks in the field of your interest topics. We can share our stories, daily life, and some thoughts related to social issues. Some social media can enable you to add some shining effects to your photos and videos to make them more appealing and intriguing to others via some high-tech and advanced software. Needless to say, the social network can help you have a comprehensive understanding of the society and world since you are granted the chance to have some interactions with foreigners and even celebrities.

However, it is also undeniable that social media may also exert negative effects on our mental and physical health. Some social media applications are equipped with diversified functions that can readily grasp your attention for a long time, causing eye strains and even other chronic illnesses. Some social media companies want you to be overly indulged in the wonderland they created, using eye-catching effects to let you invest more time and energy there. What’s more, the remarks on social media do not always have positive effects on your psychological state. Sometimes, since we are all strangers on social media, some people curse others without hesitation and always judge one person only based on their appearances instead of their opinions and viewpoints. Children are vulnerable on these virtual platforms if they express their opinions but only receive some terrible comments. Their self-confidence will be undermined, and these negative reflections will have ever-lasting effects on their real lives.

In addition, there are various channels that can also facilitate our expressions. To illustrate, we can write some editorials and critical articles in some newspapers and magazines to express ourselves. Since the process of these traditional media is more professional, we can deliver our opinions in a clearer way, and the negative feedback may not immediately have an impact on our daily life. Besides, attending some activities onsite is also a blessed opportunity for us. We can have some real interpersonal communications, which are more beneficial for us to promote our ability to think critically without offending others. For instance, only through communicating with others during some social events can I step out from the information cocoons that social media erected for me, and even have a stronger bond with others than before.

In a nutshell, with the reference to the arguments above, while social media enable us to express our ideas with ease, its disadvantages can not be overlooked and even be compensated by its peaks. We should pay more attention to communication ways that are related to our real life and get rid of the illusion that social media creates.