Social media is the best way to express personal views

With the popularity and prevalence of social media, enormous people are prone to express their personal views on those platforms. A general controversy arises when people are discussing whether social media is the best channel for us to express ourselves. Some people label this type of communication the most superior choice. As far as I am concerned, I hardly concur with this belief, and what I state can be substantiated as follows.

Admittedly, social media provide us with ample opportunities to deliver our ideas. We can share our stories, daily life, and some thoughts related to social issues, such as politics, sports, movies, etc, without any restrictions. Some social media can enable you to add some shining effects to your photos and videos to make them more appealing and intriguing to others via some high-tech and advanced software. In this way, people will be more willing to listen to your opinions. Besides, you can easily boast a large of friends when you make some remarks in the field of your interest topics. Needless to say, social media facilitates communication between diverse corners around the world since you are granted the chance to have some interactions with foreigners and even celebrities.

However, it is also undeniable that social media may also exert negative effects on our mental health.

The remarks on social media do not always have positive effects on your psychological state. Since we are anonymous online, some people curse others without hesitation and always judge one person only based on their appearances instead of their opinions and viewpoints. Children are vulnerable on these virtual platforms. Provided that they express their opinions but only receive some awful comments, their self-confidence will be undermined, and these negative reflections will have ever-lasting effects on their real lives. Every year all over the world, many people decided to commit suicide just because of Internet bullying and violence. Besides, since some social media companies want you to be overly indulged in the wonderland they created, they use eye-catching effects to intrigue you to invest more time and energy there and even use some similar information to erect an information cocoon to eventually trap you.

In addition, there are various channels that can also facilitate our expressions. To illustrate, we can write some editorials and critical articles in some newspapers and magazines to express ourselves. Since the process of these traditional media is more professional, we can deliver our opinions in a clearer way, and the negative feedback may not immediately exert detrimental impacts on our daily life. Besides, attending social activities onsite is also a blessed opportunity for us to exchange ideas with others. We can have some intimate interpersonal communications in public or in private, enabling us to express our ideas more thoroughly and clearly. For instance, I always communicate at conferences, workshops, and seminars with my friends and professors. They are always open-minded that the internet citizens I encounter online, and I can express my opinions with more ease.

In a nutshell, with the reference to the arguments above, while social media enable us to express our ideas with ease, its disadvantages cannot be overlooked and even be compensated by its peaks. We should pay more attention to communication ways that are related to our real life and get rid of the illusion that social media creates.