Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All scientific discoveries should be shared among all scientists all around the world; governments and businesses should not keep any discoveries secret.

Nowadays, with rapid globalization ongoing, there is always a debate about whether there should be borders in the field of science or not. Some people reckon that we should share all scientific discoveries, no matter what type of it, with the whole world, while others hold a reverse viewpoint. As far as I am concerned, I believe not all discoveries ought to be shared equally without restrictions.

Admittedly, some scientific discoveries can deliver more benefits to people all over the world if they are shared for free. To illustrate, if the medical companies decipher the chemical compounds of the costly medicine, more people will take advantage of the low price of the medicine since the whole industry will be enabled to produce without investing too many funds in research. If artificial intelligence can be shared with the masses by some Internet magnates, our live standards can be improved significantly owing to the share technologies.

However, it is undeniable that if all of the discoveries are shared with the public, this process will curb the speed of innovation. Our society values creativity and every government in the world proposes to utilize patents to protect the right of inventors. Provided that everything you discovered is supposed to share with others on the spot, you will not possess the power to benefit from the outcomes and will not be motivated to be committed to conducting more in-depth research and have the stimulus to make more innovations. Imagine that you are working in a company devoted to building technologies. Since every new updated material will soon be mimicked by other rivals, your company can not gain profits with ease. The market will be full of free ridings, and thus you and your workmates will lose the motivation to make more progress.

Moreover, it will be out of our control if we share some scientific discoveries that exert detrimental effects on our society and the whole world. The fact of sharing some conducive discoveries may assist the development of our society does not justify that all discoveries have the same effects. If the terrorists are equipped with the method of making guns and weapons, the public will face more crises that pose threat to them. If the evils master the skills to break down the computer systems of some critical governments and companies, our society will encounter more chaotic and urgent situations that cannot be compensated by further remedies. Our lives will be pushed to the edge of collapse, and we will experience uncertainty all day and night.

In a nutshell, since science and technology are still under high-speed development, we should keep in mind that not all findings will bring manifold benefits to our lives and some even should be kept secret. Only in this way, can we facilitate the function of our society with ease and ensure our safety forever.