Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Movies and TV programs made in one s own country are more interesting than those made in other countries

In my opinion, movies and TV programs produced in foreign countries are more interesting than those made in one’s own countries.

Firstly, technological advances, including special effects for video editing, are one important contributing factor in the movies’ popularity. The reason is simple: there are many advanced special effects companies abroad, offering a range of effects for film, TV, and commercial industries. In other words, creating the best visual effects has become an integral part of filmmaking; animation, stop-motion, miniatures, and other visual illusions are usually required in a Hollywood blockbuster, materializing what we thought impossible in reality. A good example is the movie Inception directed by Nolan, who beautifully built multiple-level dream worlds in which architects can bend the laws of physics. Specifically, words failed me at the sight of those upside-down buildings and folded pedestrian streets. All of these are the end-product of special effects companies that challenge people’s traditional perceptions, making movies more thought-provoking and mind-blowing.

Secondly, a culturally diverse and pro-creativity environment is another critical reason. By that, I mean that some Asian countries are still relatively conservative, instead of being very open-minded about some genres and plots. By contrast, in other regions, TV programs producers are given greater autonomy and creative freedom; scriptwriters are given free rein to their imagination, thereby breeding more interesting and inviting TV shows. A good example is Black Mirror, a very popular British TV show that unveils how modern technologies can backfire and be used against their makers. Specifically, some episodes even boldly explore the dilemma and philosophy of human minds versus artificial intelligence, and these topics may not be allowed in some Asian countries because of tightened media censorship and other reasons.

In conclusion, it is my firm conviction that movies and TV shows made in foreign countries are more engaging.