Many people value long lasting friendships Which ONE of the following qualities do you think is most important for determining whether a friendship between two people will last a long time Why They always help each other in a crisis or when something goes

I think that having similar interests or views on important topics is the most important factor in maintaining a long-lasting friendship.

First of all, one important point is that shared interests are a stepping stone to a fun and exciting partnership between friends. The reason is that people can find an endless supply of common topics, and these common topics provide a foundation for regular communication. Regular interaction proves to be the key to enhancing mutual friendship, creating a virtuous circle in this regard. As a result, it is possible for acquaintances to cement and maintain a long-lasting friendship. For example, my friend Tom and I are both fascinated with role-playing video games, so we always meet and talk about how to accomplish challenging missions in games by searching for the official walkthrough and gaming strategies. Moreover, I often invite him to my house and we play GTA5 -- a popular game upgraded for PlayStation 5 with stunning visuals -- at weekends. Over time, the more we communicate and play together, the stronger the bond between us grows. Clearly, it is our common interest in computer games that helps us continue our friendship until now.

When it comes to other options, we have to admit that helping each other during a crisis can enhance mutual friendship, but there is a serious problem that goes unmentioned: continuity. By that I mean, as soon as the crisis is over, one’s life would get back to normal and it would not be absolutely necessary to lend a helping hand. As this necessity no longer arises, friends’ link can be gradually weakened, if not completely severed, meaning that the goal of long-term friendship is not achievable. As to friends’ complete trust, this seems a good idea to strengthen the bond because trust is usually the cornerstone of all relationships. However, if friends only have trust instead of common topics and interests, this means that two friends would still fight over hot-button topics like religion and politics, thereby ruining this friendship. In fact, the same commonality of interest, not trust, is the fuel for deeper relationships; without emotional fuel, relationships gradually lose their spark after a while, thus exposing more vulnerability.

In conclusion, if we want to keep a long-lasting friendship, the priority is to have similar interests or views.