In some countries students do not pay any tuition to attend universities However in other countries students must pay to attend universities and the cost of university tuition can be very high Therefore some people believe that all the nations should use

Nowadays, education is still the hot-bottom topic among the public, and some countries have decided to expend enormous funds to make university education free. In this regard, a general controversy arises. Some people advocate that the government ought to divert a huge amount of money to pay for every university student’s tuition. As far as I am concerned, I hardly concur with this idea, and what I believe can be substantiated as follows.

In the first place, allocating excessive money to universities just to reduce the tuition of students will grind down the overall quality of teaching and research. As we all know, the teaching quality of a professor is significantly associated with the number of students enrolled in a class. If the universities open their doors to all students, the classrooms will be too crowded to let teachers educate students in accordance with their aptitude. Moreover, the professors are also responsible for conducting research activities and writing scientific papers. With too many students packed in the school, they will no longer have enough time to focus on their own research owing to the workload of teaching. My physics professor is a prime example. Last semester, he opened a radioactivity course and more than one hundred students enrolled. Too many students in the classroom teased others and laugh loudly during the class, distracting my professor enormously. Besides, he had to allocate a large amount of time to correct students’ assignments, leaving no time for his own academic activities.

In addition, it is not the most efficient way to narrow the disparity between haves and not-haves and establish a fair education system for all citizens. In most countries, universities reap profits from the tuition to support their academic activities, erect facilities, and sponsor poor but industrious students. Tuition paid by students from affluent families is the prerequisite of the scholarships for students from poverty-stricken families. If government pours a large amount of money to make tuition free to the masses, universities will lose this more effective way to equalize the social echelon and achieve education equality. Besides, there are more places that need funds. For example, it will be a disaster for education and teaching if more students enter universities, but only possess limited facilities and share awful network connections.

Admittedly, free universities also deliver benefits to students. Students can ease their financial burden when perusing their academic dreams, and they will have more opportunities to enrich their knowledge and elevate their living standards in the future. However, the deficiencies of free university education can also trigger some negative outcomes that cannot be readily compensated. Thus, we should think more thoroughly when making the final decision.

In a nutshell, although knowledge is priceless, the tickets to the ship of education also need to be paid for. On no accounts should we ignore the adversities of free education, and it is too rash to label the free university education as the superior choice.