Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers should be paid according to how well their students perform.

Nowadays, in the wake of intense competition in education, the issue that how to determine the teacher’s salary has been a hot-debated one. There are many principles and forms have been proposed, with many people taking attitude that teachers should be paid according to how well their students perform. As far as I am concerned, if I was the decision maker, I would be favor of this proposal.

Admittedly, it is understandable that this proposal may yield a counterproductive result for not only the children but also the teacher. To illustrate, this may press the teachers too hard to lose confidence to their teaching method and have negative effects on the competition between them. One the one hand, some teachers may be unwilling to teach classes with low-level students. One the other hand, the teaches may ignore their students’ inner voice and psychological conditions, with most attention on improving their grades and correcting their behaviors in school.

Nevertheless, just because the teachers will concentrate more on the students’ behavior does not mean this will pose a threat to caring about students’ inner views and thoughts. What is known to us all is that the behavior is the mirror of one’s mind. If a student behaves badly, it is more possible that there must be something wrong with his mental world. To improve his behavior, teachers must interact with him, listening to his inner voice. When putting in others’ shoes, can the teachers find out the real problems plaguing their kids and dealing with they from the root. Imagine such a scene, if a student is always stealing money, on no account should the teacher ignore such thing on the grounds that he is paid according to the students’ behavior. After finding that the student’s family is very indigent and parents have little time to accompany with him, and the teacher will relieve him, give him more warmth and prevent him from going to the wrong direction of his life.

In addition, in spite of some deficiencies, this proposal is still considerably conducive to the teachers and their students. Salary is the key determinant of the principle that judges the teachers’ teaching ability, and to some extent, it plays a pivotal role in stimulating them. If a teacher is encouraged by the salary according to his students’ behavior, he will acknowledge that every single one drop of his sweat pays back. Then he will be committed to the education career more industriously, thus he will be equipped with advanced education approaches, changing the traditional teacher-centered condition. On the contrary, if a teacher’s salary is determined by others aspects instead of their own students’ behavior such as the time of their career or how many essays they publicized, his brain will be stuffed with those elements rather than the students.

Based on the above discussion, I can safely draw a conclusion that it is sensible to pay the teachers according to the students’ behaviors. In opposition to the ideas that it may be detrimental to both teachers and students, this proposal can promote the teaching method and give a rise to the care for students.