Many people value long lasting friendships Which ONE of the following qualities do you think is most important for determining whether a friendship between two people will last a long time Why They always help each other in a crisis or when something goes

As we all know, human beings are social animals, and the biggest enemy in our lives is alienation. Thus, possessing a long-lasting friendship is beneficial to us. Nevertheless, when comes to this topic, a general controversy arises. Some people reckon that friends who have similar interests with us enable the friendship to last for a long time, while others hold a different viewpoint that trust determines the quality of friendship. As far as I am concerned, I believe friends who always give hands to us whenever we are facing a crisis are the prerequisite of a long-lasting friendship.

In the first place, as a renowned saying goes, "a friend in need is a friend indeed". A genuine friend can offer some assistance to you when you are facing either an emotional crisis or a financial crisis, leading to the lasting of the friendship. To illustrate, when you are enduring too much pressure caused by earning money and living, this type of friend will be willing to sit beside you and listen to your complaints with patience. In front of him, you can vent your emotions with ease and never need to pretend to be anyone else. When you are imposed too much financial burden resulting from the expensive rental fee of an apartment or you need some money for urgent affairs, this quintessential friend will put in your shoes and spare no efforts to aid you to escape from this awful condition. With this kind of friendship, you can not only share happiness but also sorrow.

On the other hand, although it is undeniable that we can enjoy a lot of pleasure with friends who possess similar interests and viewpoints to us, these interests can change as we age. For example, when I and a friend were in primary school, we were indulged in the magical world created by the Harry Potter series, talking about the plots and characters day and night. But after entering the university, our interests enormously changed. I prefer doing in-depth psychological research in my spare time, while my old friend would like to invest more time and energy in photography. Thus, we were not able to express our ideas enthusiastically anymore, and the friendship eventually faded off.

In addition, we must admit that trust is like the concrete frame of architecture, without which any friendship cannot be generated. Nevertheless, the fact that we attach great importance to trust does not justify that trust is the only and the most critical element of a friendship. Sometimes, that a friend who totally trusts you but does not do any further action to help you can hurt your heart more severely. A friend who only has trust cannot help you grapple with a crisis emerging from life.

In a nutshell, we ought to make more emphasis on the significance of possessing friends that assist us when we are mired in troubles. This type of good companions can not only relieve our loneliness and pressure but also light the candle for us when we are walking in the darkness.