In some countries students do not pay any tuition to attend universities However in other countries students must pay to attend universities and the cost of university tuition can be very high Therefore some people believe that all the nations should use

Nowadays, our society has witnessed the unprecedented accumulation of material affluence, and more and more people attach great importance to education. In this regard, a general controversy arises. Some people advocate that the government should divert a large amount of money deriving from taxes to the university education to make it free to all students. As far as I am concerned, I hardly concur with this idea, and what I believe can be substantiated as follows.

In the first place, allocating excessive money to universities just to reduce the tuition of students will grind down the overall quality of teaching and research. As we all know, the teaching quality of a professor is highly associated with the number of students in a class. If the universities open their doors to all students, the classrooms will be too crowded to let teachers pay attention to every student. This proposal will curtail the possibility of promoting the teachers to educate students in accordance with their aptitude. Moreover, the professors are responsible for conducting research and writing scientific papers. With too many students packed in the school, they will no longer have enough time to do research because of the teaching workload. My business professor is a prime example of this point. One semester, he started a course and more than one hundred students enrolled in that class. Too many students in a classroom talk with others and laugh loudly, distracting my professor enormously. Besides, he had to distribute a large amount of time to correct students’ assignments, leaving no time for academic activities.

In addition, it is not the most efficient way to narrow the disparity between haves and not-haves and achieve a fair education system for all citizens. In most countries, a better education always means higher tuition, and universities reap profits from the tuition to support their academic activities, erect better facilities, and sponsor poor but industrious students. Most time, tuition paid by students from affluent families is the prerequisite of the scholarships for students from poverty-stricken families, and the rich are willing to patronize poor ones. If government pours a large amount of money to just make tuition free to the masses, universities will lose the more effective way to equalize the social echelon and achieve education equality. Besides, there are more places that need to be allocated funds. For example, it will be a disaster for education and teaching if more students enter universities, but they only possess limited facilities and share awful network connections. And this phenomenon will impose financial burdens on taxpayers.

Admittedly, free universities also deliver benefits to students under some circumstances. Students can ease their financial burden when perusing their academic dreams. They will have more opportunities to enrich their knowledge. However, it is also unavoidable that the deficiencies of free university education can trigger some negative outcomes as listed above. Thus, we should think more thoroughly when discussing this problem.

In a nutshell, although knowledge is priceless, the tickets to the ship of education also need to be paid for. On no accounts should we ignore the adversities of free education, and it is too rash to label free universities as a superior choice.