Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Competition between friends usually has negative impacts on friendship.

What is supposed to be the essential factor that affects the lasting of a friendship? A general controversy arises when people are discussing competitions between friends. Some people reckon that the competitions between friends are detrimental to this relationship, and even bring it to an end. However, as far as I am concerned, I hardly concur with this opinion, and what I state can be substantiated as follows.

Admittedly, fierce competition between friends can make friendships severed. A large number of people attach great importance to companions from their friends. They can vent their emotions in front of their close friends without considering these behaviors may undermine their personal interests. Besides, competition can easily incur some pressure between friends, and under the circumstance of fast-paced life, people cherish the relaxation that friends bring to them and attempt to keep the peace ever-lasting. Competitions can readily cause a break between different people when they need to meet their own needs, and nobody wants to compromise. The sense of cooperation can be crippled, and people may become aloof to their friends.

However, it is too rash to label all competition between friends as negative ones, and competition may generate more marvelous opportunities from which friends can mutually benefit. Moderate competitions between friends can provide blessed chances to learn from each other. When you and your friends are in the same competition, your goals are similar and there must be some skills and experience to share with each other. Although one may not be the superior winner ultimately, he or she can still learn a lot with the assistance of friends and witness the unprecedented growth of each other. My experience is a terrific example of this point. In my sophomore, one of my friends and I studied assiduously for an exam, and we all needed a better grade for the application for the master’s programs. Despite the competition, the memories of helping each other grapple with the problems linger. Although my friend became the best student at that time, I still appreciate her assistance. True friendships never fade because of competition.

In addition, it is undeniable that your friends are not the only rivals in the competition at most times. There are always other competitors you and your friends need to confront. So, it is more advisable for you and your friends to assist each other under this circumstance, although you are still “enemies” to some extent. To illustrate, before the exams, studying with your friends can do you a favor to utilize your wits to assimilate the knowledge as much as possible, and get more advantages than other students. In a company, just because you and your friends struggle for the same bonus does not mean your untiring work will not increase the marketing share of the whole company, leading to an increased salary in the future.

In a nutshell, with the reference to the arguments above, not all competitions between friends will definitely lead to an awful consequence. Provided that we treat the competition with ease, we can still possess a long-lasting friendship.