Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Competition between friends usually has negative impacts on friendship.

Currently, living in the society full of fierce competition, individuals are attaching more importance to the impacts of competition, thus triggering a heated discussion about the impacts of competition exerts on friendship. A bunch of individuals reckon that competition between friends is harmful to their friendship, while others contend that competition among friends does not exert negative effects on their relationship, competition is even conducive to reinforce it. Personally speaking, I concur with the latter opinion for reasons as follows.

To start with, competition between friends renders them a chance of helping with each other, which is conducive for them to boost their relationships. Nowadays, due to the intense rivalry in the society, all individuals spare no efforts to strengthen their all-round aptitudes, however, disadvantages are doom to exist in each individual, therefore during the process of preparation for the upcoming rivalry, friends are capable of helping with each other by learning from others’ perks to compensate for his or her shortcomings, which ensures their better performance in competition compared to preparing for competition without friends’ help. The research conducted to evaluate friends in the competition demonstrates that 78% testers harbor the idea that their friendship has been reinforced by rivalries since they realize the significance of friendship by cooperating with each other to make mutual progress. Conversely, merely part of testers contend that their friendships suffer from competitive relationships, but they also admit that the deteriorated friendship is supposed to be avoided. The research illuminates that through the achievement generated by the collaboration in competition, each individual is capable of realizing that the friendship is of crucial importance.

What’s more, since individuals suffering from the pressure generated by competition often feel frustrated and get their enthusiasm dampened, especially when they are confronted with insurmountable obstacles, they are likely to communicate with others. Under this circumstance, just as the old goes, a problem shared is a problem halved, they tend to share their frustration with their friends who possess the same experience as them and have a deep insight into the obstacles confronted with them, which renders them an opportunity to rely on each other to make concerted efforts to figure out the optimal approaches to overcome or address issues and conduct methods with joint efforts. During these process, they possess memorable experience enabling them to strengthen their friendship. For instance, during my preparation for the college entrance exam, I often had a discussion with my friend Rebecca about the most effective approaches to maximize my studying efficiency, enhance our academic performance and so on. Although we were competitors competing for being admitted by key universities, we helped with each other, not only make achievements in varieties of subjects but also possess a lot of experience worthy of cherishing, which lays a solid foundation of enduring friendship.

Admittedly, some individuals are likely to regard their friends as the biggest enemy during the competition, since they fail to realize the existence of other competitors. Nevertheless, a friend is merely one of the competitors, while there are numerous invisible competitors waiting for competing with us, which ought to be attached sufficient attention by us.

In a nutshell, competition among friends does not exert detrimental effects on maintaining the friendship, on the contrary, it constitutes a stepping stone to boost relationship through the cooperation and the shared experience in competition.