Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is difficult for teachers to be both popular ( well-liked ) and effective to help students learning.

Currently, society has witnessed an unprecedented boom in the economy, thus there is an increasing number of individuals attaching importance to the education industry. They are endeavoring to ensure that teachers can help students learning efficaciously while gaining popularity among their students. Personally speaking, I cannot concur with this opinion and my view can be substantiated as follows.

To start with, helping students learning is time-consuming, thus teachers cannot allocate sufficient time to develop or maintain their relationships with their students. It is widely acknowledged that before giving a lecture, teachers have to make a lot of preparation. Experienced and seasoned teachers usually preview the textbooks and attach some notes, so that they are informed which part is difficult and burdensome for students to understand during the lectures. Meanwhile, they also need to allocate time to change their teaching schedules according to students’ feedback. Therefore, all their spare time has been spent on finishing their pedagogical tasks and no extra time they can conserve to develop or ameliorate their relationships with students. The research conducted by Economists indicates that, among all sampled teachers, only 5% of teachers reckon that they are free to enhance their relationship with students. While majorities of teachers are not only preoccupied with their pedagogical tasks but also burdened with numerous trivial affairs, such as, making comments to students, talking to disruptive students’ guardians and things like that, which makes them fail to distribute sufficient to reinforce their teachers-to-students bonds.

What’ s more, efficient learning is equated with more practices and stringent principles implemented by teachers, under this circumstance, students involved in such classes are nerve-racking and all their attention is attached to the knowledge inculcated by their teachers, which means that they are not likely to be fascinated by teachers’ personal charisma. To be more specific, a myriad of teachers who are reputed for their good teaching outcomes are likely to select students randomly to come to the blackboards to answer questions that put forward by them. Students, due to their self-esteem and self-dignity, are afraid to commit mistakes, which makes them freak out. In this situation, threatened by teachers’ sternness, they cannot engage interests in teachers’ personal glamor, which provides poor ambiance for them to germinate good relationships. Here is a case in the point. Once I was in high school, my school ran an evaluation of teachers’ performance. The result of this assessment was astonishing, the teachers, who took the lead in the ranking, were not renowned for their expertise, some of them were even notorious for their poor pedagogical performance. On the contrary, those seasoned teachers merely owned little supporting ballots. My classmates told me that despite those experienced teachers’ eminent performance in teaching, they were afraid of them. Especially when being mandated to answer questions in class, they were nearly freaking out, which deprived them of extra attention that can be paid to teachers’ glamorous personalities. This example illuminates that sternness caused by teachers with efficacious pedagogical methods usually impedes students from keeping an eye on teachers’ charismatic characteristics.

Admittedly, some teachers are adept in both efficacious teaching and developing good relationships with students. Nevertheless, it is keenly rare and this standard cannot be applied to request every teacher since most of them are mediocre and mundane.

In a nutshell, I would like to reiterate my view that teachers cannot excel in ameliorating relationships with students and yielding fruitful teaching outcomes at the same time since it is a back-breaking request for teachers and students, who are burdened with excessive school assignments, also cannot pay enough attention to teachers’ charisma.