Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is difficult for teachers to be both popular ( well-liked ) and effective to help students learning.

In an ideal scenario, a consummate teacher is thought to be well-received amongst students as well as adept at imparting knowledge effectively. In reality, however, teaching efficiency should be achieved through intensive training of students, which in itself is time-consuming and exhausting, and consequently, the time that should be spent to establish interpersonal relationship with their students is used up. Thus, in my opinion, it is really arduous for teachers to gain popularity within their students and meanwhile to be an efficacious assistant in their learning.

First off, effective learning process often involves strict rules and ample practices. Despite the fact that ‘practice makes perfect’ is regarded as a cliché, it is undoubtedly one of the most effective approaches to guarantee fruitful learning outcomes. In other words, a scrupulous teacher will exert his or her every effort to institute rigid regulations, and students are exposed under stressful environment, as a result of which teachers obviate the possibility to be welcomed by their students. At the end of each school semester, nearly all schools, high schools and universities alike, will include teacher assessments in which students are required to score their teachers so as to evaluate faculties comprehensively. A survey of forty high schools has revealed that there is a correlation between a teacher’s popularity and his or her strictness. Among all teachers marked by students, 23 percent gain scores under 70, which was eight marks lower than the average score 78. When asked of what their first consideration were in judging teachers’ performance, more than 80 percent participants responded that the easiness of passing the final exam was their first option, and they tended to give higher scores to teachers who assigned less tasks. Regardless of lower scores they gave, students admitted that they did have a greater sense of accomplishment in demanding courses, but they could not forget tiresome drudgery they experience. Teaching effects are contingent on the amount of assignment and the sternness of teachers; therefore, it seems contradictory for students to admire teachers with such features.

On top of that, students have a disposition to feel at ease in a relaxing atmosphere, which, in turn, is a nurturing ground for their likeness of their teachers. Mutual fondness is more likely to germinate in a light-hearted circumstance. Productive learning, nevertheless, is to force students to enter a tense and concentrated stage where students are captivated in fulfilling their tasks, namely acquiring and mesmerizing new concepts, so there is no room for extra energy to focus on their teachers’ personal charisma. Take math class in primary school period as an example. If teachers’ goal is to effectively teach multiplication table, which is regarded as a nightmare for a majority of American students, they need to press students into focusing on the class content, admonishing them to learn by heart, and inviting students to answer questions randomly. With hypertension, students will not spare any attention to notice whether their teacher is charming or not and will not agree with what the teacher does in class; instead, they will certainly grumble the uncomfortable atmosphere the teacher creates. Apart from the on-spot experience, the unpleasing impression is in all probability to remain and results in dislike of the teacher during their stay in school. Not only can a stressful environment decrease the possibility of students’ likeness of their teachers, but also it can lead to a lasting undesirable impression of them. Hence, it is not easy for teachers to be both good at efficient teaching and easy environment forming.

In a nutshell, that education practitioners play significant roles in both friendship developing and knowledge imparting in their students is a desirable condition, but it is of great difficulties for teachers to achieve this goal for learning is not all fun and relaxing in nature.