In universities, people tend to concern more about the career prospect of the subjects they learn. Some people propose that students should learn subjects with a fast job growth including math, science, technology, and engineering even if they are interested in other subjects. Do you agree or disagree?

As we all know, there is a propensity that an increasing number of college students choose their majors without considering the career prospect instead of their interests. Some individuals reckon that the interest is of prominent significance in students’ academic performance, however, some argue against by pointing out the employment problem confronted with them. Personally speaking, taking consideration of the job prospect is our priority in deciding our subjects and there are a couple of reasons to account for it.

Initially, the subjects with promising career prospects improve our opportunities of employment. Nowadays, with the fierce society competition, an ocean of fresh graduates have failed to land a job. Because of this situation in the labor market, the best approach to improve the chances of employment is choosing subjects that are in society’s need, since these subjects offer mushrooming options. For instance, Jame, one of my classmate in high school, chose her favorite subject, biology as her major in a top university. However, she is now considering switching to another apartment since she cannot find satisfied employment for the reason of her subject. The experience of my peer indicates that subjects with promising prospects play a dominant role in landing a job and they can definitely help us to meet our basic need after graduation.

What’s more, the prosperous subjects are conducive to make a contribution to the progress of civilization. Specifically, the subjects usually become prevailing due to their crucial effect they have exerted on the society, that is to say, if students decide their majors in accordance with the propensity, they catch the trend of civilization development, which not only guarantees their promising prospect of finding employment, but also is beneficial for the whole society by boosting and flourishing the precious civilization.

Admittedly, interests are important as incentives which prompt us to dedicate ourselves to the school assignments, nevertheless, if we are devoted to the research of our interested subjects without any outcomes and effects, the interests will finally fade away due to the dearth of the sense of satisfaction, which indicates that the interests are provisional if they are not rewarding.

In a nutshell, it is appropriate to decide our subjects by following the propensity, which not only enables us to land a job and get promotion easily but also ensures the continuously developing progress of civilization. Although the interests play a vital role in prompting us to be engrossed in our studies, the interests will fade away without the sense of satisfaction brought by the promising jobs and subjects.