The best way to increase students’ interest in a subject is to explain to them how this subject can help them in their lives outside the school.

As is known to all, interest is the best teacher, thus schools are attempting to arouse students’ interest with various means. Some believe that illustrating the significance of a certain subject can make learners fully aware of the fact that the course is intriguing. Indeed, this partly true for some practical subjects. Therefore, this is not the best approach, in my opinion, to achieve the goal.

Granted, showing students the importance of what they learn can exert immense effect regarding science- or engineering-related subjects. Tedious as some definitions may sound, the theories learnt from school can facilitate further utilization, which, as the teacher explains, can be found in either their future job or even in some life hacks. In this case, some students will be more motivated to study those practical courses since they know they can benefit from them sooner or later. However, a totally different picture is seen in subjects relevant with arts, which are far less utilized in practice compared with math or physics, so more common set of ways should be taken into consideration at the same time.

First, supplying students with more interesting related materials in a variety of forms can trigger their love for a subject from the bottom of their heart. Instead of turning studying into a utilitarian objective, knowledge from all channels enables students to find out with their own eyes how certain subject can be in a real world. They may develop the interest from the overlap between what they need to learn and what they previously love. This method has been applied in language teaching. In China, English class can be as vivid as well, borrowing the form of movie, drama, and songs. Giving up the traditional way of asking students to read and recite textbooks or telling them how essential English is as a tool to open a new world, teachers find it effective to impart knowledge through all-round display. The students who are visual learners or those music lovers can discover their interest in this language. As a result, students are more willing to participate in the presentation and group discussion, or to talk about it even after class.

Second, more exposure to the subject or authentic can also do the trick. People have passion for things not only due to its utility, but also because of pure appreciation. It is true that majors on arts can relatively less commonly used outside school, or to generate profits. However, it does not mean that they are of less significance since they can also intrigue a bunch of people. First-hand experience can greatly evoke their enthusiasm. My little brother, Tony is a good case in point. As a high school student, judging from the books, he once thought that oil painting was just an ordinary kind of picture, but the first tour to Rijksmuseum at grade six changed his thought. The brush stroke of Vincent Van Gogh’s masterpieces impressed him a lot and he found it amazing to combine several layers of paint, which is more attractive than that printed in his textbook. Thereafter, he became crazy about painting and chose college of fine arts years later.

In conclusion, despite the fact that presenting students how subjects can be employed in the society can have positive influence on enhancing their interest, adopting vivid teaching methods and personal experience are suitable for more courses.