The best way to increase students’ interest in a subject is to explain to them how this subject can help them in their lives outside the school.

Currently, society has witnessed an unprecedented boom in the economy, thus citizens’ awareness of schooling has been sparked. They initiate to ponder the question that which is the best way that helps us to engage students’ interest in a subject. Some individuals reckon that explaining the subject’s function in students’ lives outside the school is an optimal choice. Personally speaking, I cannot concur with this opinion and my view can be substantiated as follows.

To start with, the direct exposure to a certain subject is a better way to trigger students’ interest in the subject. Nowadays, majorities of students are burdened with excessive school assignments, they do not have sufficient time and energy to explore the wonderland or have a thorough understanding of the affairs existing in the world, not to mention the specific subject. Hence, when they are introduced to a certain subject, those tender students, who are not mature enough to comprehend the subject’s utilization, are likely to get confused and perplexed. Thus, this approach finally ends up biting children in the downside or dampening their enthusiasm for certain subjects. On the contrary, provided that children are directly exposed to certain subjects, they are entitled to have a straightforward image of those subjects, which enables them to be fascinated by such subjects. Here is a case in the point. When my cousin needed to decide his major, he was admonished by both his teachers and parents that artificial intelligence is a promising field. However, owing to the dearth of knowledge in the domain of artificial intelligence, he was reluctant to give the final decision. At the same time, an exhilarating opportunity was given to him that he could visit a local tech giant company. After he paid a visit to the company which develops the cutting-edge technology products, he found that he was really fond of software engineering, thus he quickly gave his final decision to choose artificial intelligence as his major for the future 4 years. This example illuminates that direct exposure does exert an advantageous effect on intriguing children’s interest compared to the tedious explanation of the subject’s utilization.

What’s more, the pedagogical methods employed by teachers also play a pivotal role in sparking children’s interest. To be more specific, a bunch of students are kinesthetic or visual learners, thus if they are taught in a traditional way, they are more likely to feel bored when they are plowing through the profound knowledge. On the contrary, provided that teachers can employ some animation movies and digital games, their enthusiasm for studying will be greatly elevated.

Admittedly, explaining to students about how the subject is helpful for them in their lives outside the school do have some effects in increasing students’ interests. Nevertheless, such interests cannot sustain in a relatively long period since there is a high propensity that those students, who are utilitarian, eventually find the subject is too tedious for them to stand. As a result, they grind the process of learning a certain subject to a cease and their previous efforts waste.

In a nutshell, I would like to reiterate my view that it is not a terrific approach to engaging students’ interests by explaining the subject’s utilization to them, because the facts have proven that there are other methods that are more efficacious can be adopted, for instance, letting students to have a direct exposure to certain subjects or adopting more intriguing pedagogical methods to inculcate knowledge in replace of the traditional one.