Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Playing sports teaches people important lessons about life.

Nowadays, a lot of people choose to release their pressures that have been accumulated from escalating pressures from competitions by various ways. One of them is doing sports, which not only helps release pressure, but also teaches people important lessons about life.

To begin with, playing sports shows people the importance of being persistent. And persistence stands out as one of the most essential traits imbedded by competitive people. For example, those who have a passion for running tend to be more patient and persistent when challenged by tasks which require large amounts of devotion, for the reason that running has carved the equation of “keep trying=positive change” into their mindsets. So they tend to solve problems with a positive attitude and being more patient and competitive during the process. And with this kind of persistence, they can almost solve every single problem in their lives.

What’s more, playing sports teaches a person how to work with others, which is the most required quality in today’s highly specified society. For example, when playing basketball, you can hardly score single-handedly, but to cooperate with your teammates to tear your opponent’s defense. Every superstar in the NBA is good at working with his teammates. Without the ability of working in a well-organized team, Stephan Curry, the most talented three-pointer shooter in history would not have won the championship. And without the ability to work in a coordinated manner, a person won’t be able to grow competitive in job market.

Last but not least, playing sports infuses us the appropriate attitude of handling wins and losses. As the old saying goes, “You win some and lose some”, we are supposed to learn to be humble after a win and optimistic after a loss. Furthermore, we also need to respect our opponent. In general, playing other people in sports and sports-like activities can help us cultivate such healthy mindsets.

In a nutshell, I strongly agree with the statement that playing sports can teach people important lessons based on the reasons that it can reveal the importance of persistence, teamwork, and humbleness and we can benefit from possessing such qualities.