In universities, people tend to concern more about the career prospect of the subjects they learn. Some people propose that students should learn subjects with a fast job growth including math, science, technology, and engineering even if they are interested in other subjects. Do you agree or disagree?

Under the current education system, college subjects have become increasingly diversified. How to choose subjects in college has gain much attention of the public. Most students are advised by their parents or teachers to choose subjects which can guarantee a brighter career prospect, while students themselves would probably select the field that caters to their interest. As far as I am concerned, it seems that the latter is more reasonable. The reasons are as follows.

First off, choosing subjects that students are interested in can help them to master the curriculum contents better. Interest is the best teacher. Driven by great enthusiasm and passion for the subject they are interested in, students are more likely to devote much of their time and energy to what they are learning, thus having a better grasp of knowledge and skills imparted by teachers. By contrast, without any interest in what they are taught, students who lack in internal regulation may find the courses they attend monotonous. For example, it is not unusual to see that students are taking a nap, playing on their smartphone, or even chatting with classmates while having a class. To make it worse, some of them may even skip classes that they find boring. The reason behind this phenomenon is lack of interest in what they learn.

Secondly, selecting subjects that students like is beneficial for them to pursue a better career after graduation. As we know, with the constant change and improvement of the society in so many ways, the employment market is ever-changing. In fact, some once promising industries, such as computer engineering and mechanical automation, might become obsolete. It means that the major one chooses can not necessarily guarantee a good job in the future. Instead, it is true specialty and skills one possesses that play an essential role in hunting a decent job in a job market full of fierce competition. Apparently, only those who have passion for their major can lay a sound foundation in theoretical knowledge, which is a must for future employment. Therefore, the major catering to one’s interest can better improve one’s competitiveness in the employment market.

Admittedly, it is widely believed that science subjects seem more practical and applicable in various areas, such as medicine, construction and space technology, which are either indispensable for human life or can attracts great amount of funds. This certainly leads to a standpoint that these subjects could ensure a better career. However, some emerging industries such as the business of art are thriving as massive funds are going to these fields, which means that students who are engaged in these majors will have a better chance in achieving something than those who choose traditional science subjects for the sake of a good job.

Considering the mastering of theoretical knowledge and their career prospect, it is advisable for college students to choose subjects that they are interested in.