In universities, people tend to concern more about the career prospect of the subjects they learn. Some people propose that students should learn subjects with fast job growth including math, science, technology, and engineering even if they are interested in other subjects. Do you agree or disagree?

The issue of whether it is better for people to study majors that related to a fast job growth category although these majors are not their interests aroused much controversy among people of different ages and different perspectives. Definitely, some people, if were asked would agree with the statement that the students should major in subjects such as math, science, and engineering even though their interests are different because of the promising future, while others have a negative attitude toward this point of view. As far as I am concerned, I postulate following our interests in far outweigh obliging ourselves to study in the subject just because of their career perspectives. In the following paragraph, I will shed light on the arguments to support my view.

The first vital point to be mentioned is that the majors like engineering, math, and science confront with excessive competition these days, as the most of students have a tendency to educate in these kinds of majors. Therefore, in the near future, we witness of depression in the job market of these subjects. Although these majors seem unsaturated, the escalating number of people on an unprecedented scale proves that this increase in job opportunity would not be permanent. As a result, if people study in their favorite field other than these fields, in the future they can find a proper job as their major won’t influence by this competition.

In approaching this issue, apart from the reason given above, another reason that deserves some words is that the interest is crucial in success which leads to a high salary. Interest makes people more enthusiastic and productive to study and work harder and better to promote in their career. As a consequence, the wise choice for everyone is pursuing his interests. For instance, in the modern world that technology and science are pioneers in everything and the workers in these fields are paid a high salary, we can see many artists create impressing artworks and not only admire by society but also they sell their artwork in unbelievable price. It proves that by following our interest we can achieve prosperity in spite of studying in the major the apparently might not lead to earning a high income.

By the way of conclusion, based on the arguments that explored above, I am of the opinion that major such science, math, and technology will be saturated in the future as many students tend to choose them because of their job market. Moreover, by following our interest regardless of whether they are includes in the fast job growth category, we can become affluent.