What is the most useful way to help the natural environment?

Plant more trees and build parks

Stores stop providing plastic bags

Increase access to public transportation to reduce the number of cars on the road

Currently, although society has witnessed an unprecedented boom in economy, the globalized world is confronted with serious malaria that the natural environment is continuously deteriorated, hence a heated discussion is evoked that what is the most efficient approach to helping ameliorate the natural environment. Some individuals reckon that more trees ought to be planted in cities, while some city dwellers insist stores are supposed to be banned from providing plastic bags. Personally speaking, I cannot concur with the listed two opinions. I am a strong advocate of increasing public transportation and my view can be substantiated as follows.

To start with, increasing access to public transit can help us reduce haze. It is widely acknowledged that nowadays, owing to the excessive construction both in the rural and urban areas and the wide utilization of private cars, residents are suffering from the haze. Meanwhile, the haze, which has haunted individuals for years, especially in winter, exerts detrimental effects in citizens’ physical health. Some individuals are induced to be enslaved with diseases, both chronic and acute. In additionally, children and elder citizens are more likely to have respiratory diseases caused by the terrible air quality. In accordance with the investigation conducted a reputed journalist, the proliferation of private cars should be largely to blame. Hence, in order to ameliorate the air, the first firm measure is to reduce the utilization of private cars. But other measures, especially the construction of public transportation should follow up to ensure citizens’ convenience of traveling. Therefore, building more public transits is beneficial for us to improve air quality by decreasing the quantities of exhaust fumes emitted by private cars.

What’s more, constructing more public transits also tackle the problem of energy. To be more specific, the whole society is running out of the non-renewable energy, such as petroleum, natural gas and so. However, in order to sustain people’s tremendous energy demand, a bunch of energy conglomerations, especially those transnational corporations are endeavoring to exploit the natural energy in some regions where the ecology is so brittle and cannot bear the risks of exploitation. In other words, provided that more public transportation can be erected in cities, less energy is required to be consumed in a given amount of time. Thus, conglomerations, who are no longer driven by interests and profits, will cease their excavation in different regions around the world and the natural environment can be preserved in good conditions.

Admittedly, planting trees and stopping providing plastic bags are not without merit. Trees are capable of purifying the air through their photosynthetic effects. Meanwhile, their barks and leaves can also trap the particles existing in the air. Nevertheless, trees cannot be cultivated overnight, it takes time to fulfill the aim of air purification. With regard to the plastic bags, it also triggers other problems. For instance, in a restaurant, some customers, who do not want to pay for containers, may just let the food go to waste. However, rats would be attracted, which gives rise to hygiene problems.

In a nutshell, I would like to reiterate my view that the most efficient way to protect the natural environment is increasing the access to public transits, since it can not only directly reduce the exhaust fumes caused by the utilization of private cars but also cease the exploitation of natural energy which is of great detriments to the environment.