Which one is the most important factor to help you work productively?

1. Having an environment free of noise and distractions

2. Knowing that you will receive a reward

3. Doing something you are interested in

Since the dawn of industrialization, employers have always been seeking to find the most vital factors that impact their employee’s efficiency. Beyond any doubt, the identification of the influential parameters on the productivity of the workforce can provide the factories with a chance of boosting their profitability. In my opinion, interest in the work that one is doing is the most critical parameter that can elevate productivity. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, individuals are more specialized in the tasks in which they are interested. In other words, if people get involved in their favorite business, it is more likely to be successful in it because they are familiar with the task and are more specialized in it. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. A few years ago, I hired a company that produced some chemical detergent. At first, the direct manager assigned me to the quality control part to check the output quality regarding the specific standards. As the task did not match my specialty, it seemed very hard and burdensome to me that led to a decline in my performance. As a result, my senior manager advised me to change my section to the other part of the factory. Finally, my boss assigned me to the production line, and because it exactly matched my interest area and I was familiar with the task, it brought about a higher efficiency in my part. After a while, I got a promotion form my boss, and this was because of my high proficiency in that part. Had I not pursue my interest and not change my section, I would not have get promotion and be successful as I am now.

Furthermore, doing interesting activities usually is less boring, and individuals are even less likely to get exhausted as soon as they get involved in those activities that do not like it. In fact, psychologically speaking, workforces who do their favorite tasks most often put all of their efforts to perform it as a result of fulfilling their sense of self-actualization. A recent study on the relationship between interest and efficiency in workplaces in my country, Iran, has revealed that workers satisfied with their profession gained by even 70% higher productivity in the specific tasks than those who were displeased by their work.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that interest is a significant factor that helps individuals work productively. This is because even more people are specialized in their favorite works and because by doing satisfying tasks, people usually put all of their effort to fulfill it.