Do you agree or disagree with the following statement:

It is impossible to be completely honest with your friend.

Throughout history, human beings have always been seeking to make effective social bonds, which friendship is the most prominent among them, for the sake of happiness in their lives. They have always been concerned about the ways by which they could have had a happy and long-lasting friendship. Since one of the momentous factors in this regard is honesty the controversial question which arises here is whether we can be completely honest with our friend or not. As I am concerned, sometimes, honestly does not help to keep a friendship. In what follows, I elucidate my point of view.

The first aspect to point out is that telling the truth does not always make progress in friendship. In other words, there are some situations a friend should avoid honestly and tell a white lie to keep his friendship. This situation is usually rare but has a significant role in saving relationship which has been on the verge of breaking down. Take a personal momentous back to my high school for exemplification, I had a conflict of interest on an issue which had kept our relations on a break. After a while, I asked a friend of ours who lived in his dormitory to find his remark about me. Had our mutual tell the truth and not encouraged me to call him, I would not have been able to reclaim our friendship.

Another noteworthy point supporting my opinion is that somehow in a friendship it does not seem to be necessary to tell a friend all the facts. Friendship is believed to be a relation whose two parties should attempt to raise its quality and accordingly make progress in it. Nevertheless, being completely honest might hurts the relationship especially when a person needs to be stimulated by a friend’s praise. For instance, consider an athlete who is training for a competition. Obviously, in the beginning, he should be admired and motivated by his friends although he looks amateur in their eyesight. In this situation, not only does being honest and telling reality not help a friend but also might impact negatively and hinder a friend to keep working out.

In summary, all aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that to have a long-lasting friendship it demanded that sometimes we could disguise honesty. That is to say, depending on the condition it founds that more advisable to say unreality to keep a bond strong.