Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: it is impossible to be completely honest with your friend?

Throughout history, being honest has plays a crucial role in the societies. There are a lot of books in which has recommended that people should be honest with each other. A controversial question which arises here is whether people could be honest with their friends in any situation. I personally take the view that it is not a prudent course of action to be honest with others always. To substantiate my point of view, the following paragraphs represents a cursory glance at the most outstanding reasons.

First and foremost, people always have something confidential in their lives, which means they should not speak with their friends about those secrets. To put it another way, these kinds of personal matters have nothing to do with others, and one may not tell them to anybody including their friends. There are a myriad number of people who have mentioned they are regret telling their secrets to their peers. My own experience is a case in point. Approximately three years ago, one of my friends asked me about a personal affair. Unfortunately, I confide in him and told all the detail. After two weeks, I noticed he had spoken with others about my secret, and almost every one of my friends knew about that. Therefore, I felt stressed and decided never tell my personal issue to others. Had I not told my secret to my friend, he would not have been encountered stress to such an extent.

The second noteworthy reason to be mentioned is that there are situations in which people cannot tell the truth in view of the fact that they may make their friends unhappy. In other words, sometimes people ask their friends for their opinion about something related to them, and if their friends tell the truth, they will face a lot of difficulties. For instance, they may ask their friends telling their opinion about the new car that they have bought, and it is not possible to tell them the truth if their friends don’t like that car. It goes without saying that telling the truth in some circumstance, will cause their friendship to tear apart. In the research conducted in my country in 2020, people were asked to express their viewpoint about always being honest with their friends. The results revealed that the more they were honest with their friends, the more they faced difficulties in their relationship. A great number of them announced that their relationship with some of their counterparts have finished due to the fact that they have voiced their real opinion.

In short, all the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that it is not possible for people to be frank with their friends in any circumstance because sometimes it has a dire consequence for them, especially when they say their secrets to their friends and they reveal it. Besides, sometimes people want their friends to express their opinion about their beloved belonging such as items they have bought recently, and if people don’t like that and say this to them, it will make them sad. However, that was a story in a nutshell; actually, there are some other reasons and examples, which are not mentioned above. Finally, it is suggested that a survey be conducted to find out whether the benefit of being completely honest outweigh the cost of not telling the truth.