Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Young people should choose a job that is similar to what their parents did.

In the modern era, due to the complexities of societies, having a job plays an important role in people’s lives. In this regard, people have always tried to take some measure to be able to get a decent and well-paid job. Some people possess the conviction that it is more prudent course of action for young people to follow their parents’ job. I personally take the view that choosing your parent’s occupation is a good idea. To substantiate my point of view, the following paragraphs represent a cursory glance at the most outstanding reasons.

First and foremost, parent have enough and valuable experience in their own jobs, which means they can transfer that to their children. There is no disputing the fact that lack of job experience is the biggest obstacle for young people to find a job. Parents can help their children put their theoretical knowledge into action by teaching them. My own experience is a case in point. When my father was young, he studied computer engineering in a well-known university in our country. As time elapsed, he was capable of gaining enough experience, and after that, he could land a decent job in a big company. When I wanted to enroll in university, he insisted on choosing computer engineering, and I accepted. After graduation, due to the fact that he was an experienced and knowledgeable engineer, I asked him different questions when I faced various difficulties. Then, I could get a money-making job in a big corporation. Had my mother not had enough experience, I would not have been able to learn different things. Thus, I could not find a good job after graduation.

The second noteworthy reason to be mentioned is that parents have made some professional connections and networks during their working life. It goes without saying that the more connection a person has in working community, the more they can help their children to find a job. In other words, parents who know many people in different companies, can ask them to provide their children with the golden opportunity to get a job. Therefore, they children will have less stress owing to the adverse economic climate. In the research conducted in my country in 2020, the factors that affected the people’s chance to get a job position were analyzed. The results revealed that there is a positive correlation between the size of people’s professional network and their children’ chance to find a job position. Their children did not encounter any challenge in careers, nor did they experience any stress.

In short, all the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that it is more reasonable for young people to choose a job that they parents had in the past. The reason for this is that Not only will children have more chance to be knowledgeable in the view of the fact that parents are able to transfer their experience to them, but also their parents have more professional connection and can help their children to land a decent job. However, that was a story in a nutshell; actually, there are some other reasons and examples, which are not mentioned above. Finally, it is suggested that parents encourage their children to choose their jobs as their future career.