Do you agree that people should always participate in the activities that they are good at or talented in?

In the contemporary world, there are a huge number of tasks and activities in which people daily and nightly are participating. Beyond any doubt, skills and talents are the key factors to fulfill these actions. And usually, people are willing to participate in an activity that they are good at and can afford it. The controversial question which arises here is whether people should choose the task and activity based on their skills and interest or talent itself can play the only essential factor in choosing it. As far as I am concerned, skill and interest play cardinal roles in doing an activity in the best way. Although some might find this controversial, in what follows, I will elaborate on my perspective.

First of all, it is significant to be mentioned that skills and interests provide people with vast opportunities to get involved in many tasks they want to and talent deficiency itself can not hinder the progress. It is indisputable that talent is an inherent quality that people mostly inherit from their biological parents and talented people without good education cannot cope with the task. According to a survey conducted in my country Iran, back to 2016, two groups of students have given a certain task to be done. The first group was the selected talented students and the second one was the educated and learned students who had been familiar with the subject. The result has clearly demonstrated that the last group who was good at that activity could have done the outstanding part of the task in less time compared to the first group.

Moreover, it is axiomatic that had people been learned and skilled at an activity, they would have been found more self-esteem. Based on a recent book that I have read, the author implied that self-confidence and self-esteem in doing an activity brought about a person with more sense of self-actualization and consequently caused him/her would put all effort to cope even in burdensome tasks. Being good and skilled at the assigned work not only do people help to carry out it in less time, but also they can perform it in better quality.

To wrap it up, contrary beliefs might be tossed around about whether talented people can get more success in activities. Conversely, based on the aforementioned reasons, I hold the idea that people should take part in activities that they are good at rather than talented in. As a matter of fact, there are some other reasons and examples that can be invoked to support my perspective, but let’s suffice to this.