Some companies provide important products or service, but also damage environment. Some people believe that government should require more penalty, higher tax and larger fine of these companies, while others believe there are better ways. Which do you prefer?

In civilized societies, the preservation of the environment has always been considered as a major concern for governments. Beyond any doubt, it is critically important that governments control the activity of companies that are likely to harm the environment. The controversial question which arises here is whether the government should order high taxes or impose a huge fine on companies whose activities damage the environment. Personally, I believe that there are better ways that government can apply them to control the companies and consequently decrease the environmental risk. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, lay on higher taxes or order a huge penalty on companies whose products are essential to people leads to escalating the price of their products. Generally speaking, people will pay a higher price for the goods they needed for and it may cause some financial problems for society. In fact, the result of increase in taxes and fines will end up a huge cost to the government itself to compensate for the financial issues of society. Companies are usual in the authority to determine the price of their products and if they feel any shortage in their benefits they make up for the loss by raising the prices as soon as possible.

Secondly, there are ample different effective strategies that the government should take into consideration to control the environmental problem. Governments should encourage companies to redesign their harmful products or change the technology of producing them in a way that is more environmentally friendly. Psychologically speaking, encouragement is more influential than punishment. For instance, there is a company in my countryside that produces vast products of detergent. At first, this company used to release its wastes into the adjacent river that caused a lot of harm to that nature and animal habitats. Once the government had posed a sufficient loan to them to add a biological filter to their waste outlet, they could have purified the outlet. Since they have employed that new technology, not only have they not damaged the environment anymore but also they could have improved their product and have decreased their prices because they have not had any environmental concerns anymore.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that it is great to apply some other motivated policies to control the potential harm of the companies rather than lay on high taxes or severe fines on them. This is because it can give them the chance of making new and environmentally friendly designs and also applying new technologies along with maintaining their products’ prices as the same as before.