Some companies provide important products or service but also damage environment Some people believe that government should require more penalty higher tax and larger fine of these companies while others believe there are better ways Which do you prefer

Environment problems are closely connected to both individual and society health. Recent years have seen a mount of news that companies make profits with environmental damages. Therefore, someone claims that the best way to address this issue is to ask more penalties, such as higher tax and larger fine. From my perspective, although adding tax could be effective to some extent, there are also better ways, like spending more money on new technology and raising awareness of public.

Admittedly, requiring more penalties from companies who caused damage to environment could help reduce this behavior. This is no one would enjoy losing their income which they have earned so hard. Therefore, to avoid paying the penalty, chemical factories which discharge polluted water would spare no effort to reduce the amount. Car manufactories would do their best to cut the exhaust every car could emit. However, those actions cannot get the root for even the price goes up, most companies can choose to pay if they can just raise the price to compensate the loss.

However, many companies are willing reduce the damage if they are provided new techniques which not only cause less damage but also ask less cost to make same products. As we now, the most essential goal of a company is to making profits. Therefore, if the government give more funding for research institutes to develop novel technology as descripted below, such as new energy to substitute fossil fuel, advance material to replace wood as construction material, then those profit-oriented company will be much happier to change, and even they ask the research institute to help apply new techniques to their product as soon as possible.

Moreover, to raise the awareness of customers will also be more effective thang simply to impose heavy penalties. For example, it is reasonable to instill the mind to children that the environmental damage is a vital problem and need to be done instantly by abandoning the products can cause damage at school. Then, children will ask their parents and neighborhoods to do so if we encourage them by give rewards. Those people and the government will then work together to wave an atmosphere of using environmental-friendly products. Therefore, many companies who produced products with environmental damage will find no ways but to change their companies’ strategy to invent and sell products which meets the public’s need if they want to keep their profits.

To sum up, there are some other ways that are more effective than requiring more penalties from companies who provide important products and service but cause damage to environment, since the government could give more funding aiming to find new technology and arouse environmental-friend awareness of public to push compony to reduce damage voluntarily.