Claim Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive Reason It is primarily in cities that a nation 039 s cultural traditions are preserved and generated Write a response in which you discuss

The statement claims that governments must allocate financial support to major cities to keep them thriving, result from that a nation’s cultural traditions are preserved and generated in cities. I fundamentally agree with the claim to support significant cities’ prosperity. However, the reason for my point is different from the author. It is because that major cities are the economic engine of a country. It seems most retains in small towns and villages rather than a metropolis in terms of cultural traditions.

Firstly, the importance of economic prosperity to modern countries are self-evident, since it is directly related to citizens’ living standards. We cannot expect most people of economically underdeveloped country live a prosperous life. According to Aristotle, in his classic book Politics, it is the governments’ duty to make sure their people live a higher standard life. A fact that must take into consideration to achieve this goal is that economic activities in big cities account for most of the country, like New York city for America, London for the United Kingdom, Beijing and Shanghai for China. However, the metropolis also means enormous costs, such as more infrastructure investment in airports, subway, 5G. These things cost colossal money and take a long time to be repaid, which means private capital has little interest in these fields. Therefore, governments must support their mojor significant cities in financial ways to keep them run smoothly and thrive permanently.

Moreover, it is undoubted that major cities are also the cultural centers of many countries. However, culture cannot always be traditional, and cultural traditions are a particular part of the culture. Diverse culture convergences in a big city can be conventional and can be native and can be exotic. Like Hong Kong, the confluence of eastern and western culture, many foreign people settle down and bring their culture there. There are colorful big parades, consisting of Irish and other local people, to celebrate St. Patrick’s Day every year, not a traditional festival in Hong Kong.

Finally, compared to diverse cultures in major cities, the small town and village seem to remain traditional. The small town and village usually have fewer foreigners from other countries, most of its residents are local people. Consequently, it is less likely to have cultural communication in the town. Then, people’s living styles and customs may have little change from one of their ancestors; in other words, cultural traditions are more likely to prevail. For example, in China, all family members gather to cook a sumptuous mail together to celebrate the Spring festival is an ancient and traditional culture. However, in recent years, many families in cities choose to reserve feasts in restaurants rather than cooking by themselves. This conventional culture will gradually decline in cities if more and more families prefer to restaurants. As for residents in a small town and village, they live a slower pace of life. The Spring Festival is the most important day for them so that they would prepare for it in advance elaborately.

In conclusion, governments must ensure major cities to receive financial support for economic reasons. If they want to pay attention to cultural traditions, the small town and village are more idealistic ones.