Collectors prize the ancient life size clay statues of human figures made on Kali Island but have long wondered how Kalinese artists were able to depict bodies with such realistic precision Since archaeologists have recently discovered molds of human hea

The prediction in the reading is that the abstract miniature statues’ value will increase and the value of life-size statue of human will decrease, since the Kalinese artists use molds rather than sculpting tools or techniques to make the bigger ones. However, before we reach a final prediction, there are several questions need to be addressed, which can help us assess this statement more comprehensively.

First, the author conclude that Kalinese did not use sculpting tools and techniques because of the discovery of molds of human heads and hands. Nonetheless, one question then needs to be answered is that whether the molds and sculpting tools and techniques are mutual exclusion, in other words, is there any possible that artists use both the two strategies to crate their masterpieces. It is reasonable to use sculpting tools and techniques to repair some broken statues, since the clay structure is a little fragile. In addition, sculpting tools and techniques can also be used in producing procedure. Considering the mold progress is somewhat rough, artistes may also need sculping tools to do some ornamental works, like polishing or carving. Either scenario, if true, would render the author’s prediction bootless.

Moreover, another question needs to be answered is that whether the miniature statues were made for the same function as the life-size statues of human figures. It is possible that those small ones play another role in Kalinese lives. For example, the life-size statues may be made for daily use, while the miniatures may be symbols of their belief, like Indian who consecrate lots of gods’ statues. In their imagine, gods are different from mundane people and the small-size shows their pure respect, so that the statues were made abstract and miniature. If this is the case, the author’s statement would be severely undermined

Finally, the author makes his/her prediction is that the life-size sculptures will devalue, and the miniatures will appreciate. Nevertheless, another imperative question to ask is that is there really an exact definition of artwork’s value. Given a single artwork, five connoisseurs may give five deviate evaluation. This is because different people have his/him different perspective and principle of art.

Thus, we cannot predict general value of these status, it is all depend on individual:

those who addict to human-size artworks would continue to appreciate the life-size statues whatever their made procedure, while those fascinate mold-made statues may do not think highly of the miniature once they know it was by sculpting tools. If this is the case, the author’s prediction is by no means reasonable.

In conclusion, only after the aforementioned questions are adequately addressed can we effectively evaluate the author’s statement and reach a logically sound prediction.