The following was written as a part of an application for a small business loan by a group ofdevelopers in the city of Monroe A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise Currently the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away th

In this argument, the arguer contends that it is highly profitable to establish a jazz music club in Monroe. To substantiate the conclusion, the arguer points out that jazz is very popular among the city, the nearest jazz club is far away, and a study shows that the representative jazz fan spends nearly one thousand dollars annually on jazz entertainment. Although this suggestion may seem quite convincing at first glance, the arguer does not conclusively justify his conclusion. More evidence is needed to form a better evaluation of the other’s suggestion

To begin with, to strengthen the argument, the arguer has to provide the evidence that residents will reject to go to the nearby jazz club after the C-Note’s opening. However, it is perfectly possible that many residents are big fans of some stars in the nearby clubs. Thus, they will continue to support their idols regardless of the 65 miles distance. Furthermore, jazz has a lot of forms, and chances are that citizens do not like the music style offered by C-Note. Either of the scenarios, if true, would undermine the author’s conclusion.

In addition, even though the arguer claims that jazz is very popular in the city because more than 100,000 people attended the annual jazz festival last year, more evidence is needed to prove that those people are really like jazz. To be more specific, if there is no other festivals or raucous celebrations, people, who just do not like to stay at home, would have no choice to attend the jazz festival. Plus, well-known jazz musicians cannot guarantee the popularity of jazz unless there is some evidence show that most residents are fascinated with those musicians. However, perhaps that those musicians are only connected to a local music school, and people who live in Monroe are not familiar with them. Without ruling out these possibilities, the author cannot convince us that the conclusion is cogent.

Granted that jazz is popular and the new jazz club can take up the whole local market, another evidence is also crucial is that whether the nationwide survey applies equally to jazz fans in Monroe. It is possible that local jazz fans are live in a lower condition than nationwide typical jazz fans. Thus, they may choose to spend little on some expensive jazz entertainment and enjoy their habit in cheaper ways such as free TV programs. If this is the case, it would render the arguer’s conclusion much less persuasive.

To sum up, although the arguer provides some information to support his idea, there are still some doubtful points that need to be addressed by more convincing evidence.