The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants Recently butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States This change however has had little impact

In this memorandum, the manager asserts that recent replacement of butter with margarine had little impact on Happy Pancake House’s customers because a little percent of customers complain about it or just ignore it. However, there are at least three alternative explanations that can cogently account for the same result.

First of all, the fact that only 2 percent of customers have complained cannot guarantee that the other 98 percent of customers do feel delighted in the replacement. On the contrary, it is perfectly reasonable that most of the customers are not satisfied with the margarine, but they decide not to complain about it. This may be due to the restaurants’ complex feedback procedure which would take customers a lot of time to fill many forms, and those customers do not want to waste their time on a small issue. In addition, they may choose not to go to Happy Pancake House anymore instead of complaining about the replacement. Without ruling out these probabilities, the author’s statement is by no means convincing.

Moreover, it is possible that many customers are not aware of this change since this change is “new” so that only 2 percent of customers have complained about it. To be more specific, some people may feel different tastes, but they think it results from a different cook who is not familiar with the particular cooking procedure of this restaurant. But as time goes by, they will perceive this change in the future. And at that time, they may get angry about the restaurant because they are not informed about this change before they purchase it. If this is the case, it would make the manager’s explanation less persuasive.

Finally, the author concludes that a lot of customers who ask butter but receive margarine do not complain because they do not perceive this change or their “butter” refers to either the butter or the margarine. However, these customers do not complain may also stem from that they are conscious about this change and think highly of it. Precisely speaking, it is possible that they indeed ask for the real butter first and get the margarine instead. But after they taste it, they notice the difference and feel it is better than before. So, there is no need to complain but appreciate it. If this is the case, it would impeccably rival the author’s explanation.

To sum up, although it is reasonable that customers’ ignorance and satisfaction to the replacement of the Happy Pancake House restaurants account for the little impact to the customers, there are also several alternative explanations, which could challenge the author’s conclusion, can plausibly result in the facts presented in the memorandum.