The following appeared in a health newsletter A ten year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets whereas today that numbe

In this newsletter, the author contends that government should concentrate on bicycle safety education for people and less on encouraging helmets, since a study shows that wearing a helmet is less effective for bicycle safety. Although this recommendation seems reasonable at first glance, a careful examination of the statement would reveal it relies on several groundless and unwarranted assumptions.

Firstly, the author assumes that most bicyclists are trusty when they were asked whether or not wear a helmet ten years ago. However, it is possible that a number of people lied in the query. This might happen when they think riding without a helmet is not a moral activity and could be punished by police. They know to wear a helmet can help them be more safety, but they just do not like to wear it. But recently, our government conduct a policy that those people who rides without a helmet will not get punished, and then they tell the truth to reporter. Thus, the study’s result seems unconvincing, and the author’s conclusions are by no means cogent.

Moreover, another assumption this newsletter relies on is that the number of bicyclists has not increased dramatically during the past ten years. It is possible that more people like to ride a bicycle to go out, whatever to work or to play. They may want to live a more low-carbon way and exercise by riding as well. If the number get increased significantly over the ten years, such as 10 times more than ten years ago. The 200 percent increased accidents can be a signal of more safety of bicycle. If this is the case, it would undermine the author’s proposed conclusion.

Finally, the author hasty assumes that the accident are mostly related to bicyclists’ ignorance of safety. Nonetheless, if most bicyclists know exactly to put themselves into a safe situation when riding a bicycle, then the government’s education might not reach the expect conclusion mentioned in the passage. It is reasonable that increased accidents more related to the more complex traffic conditions, like many drivers do not obey the traffic rules and drive in the bicycle lane. Bicyclist are exposed to a more perilous situations and the accidents are more likely happen. Without ruling out this possibility, the authors’ argument cannot be cogent and sound.

In conclusion, the newsletter relies on several specious and unconvincing assumptions, so that the conclusion could be groundless.