The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of bicycle-related accidents has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents, the government should concentrate more on educating people about bicycle safety and less on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author cites the details of his/her 10 year old study and primarily states that rate of bicyclists wearing helmets has increased from 35% to 80%. He/she further states in the study for the same duration, the bicyclist felt safer and endangered their lives by taking more risks ,ramifying into accidents. Finally the remedy stated by author is the acknowledgment by the government to educate people on the facet of bicycle safety in which wearing a helmet is somewhat an irrelevant entity to be considered. If the study is deeply scrutinized, it several loopholes and fallacious assumptions which the author has undertaken and stated in this study.

Primarily, the study states the rate of bicyclists wearing helmets has been increased. The study does not depicts how many people participated or what was the actual number of bicyclists who volunteered for the study. Hence such an assumption on inadequate data is belied. Also there are few unanswered questions to this argument; The people who interviewed priorly re-interviewed for wearing helmets? Was the same group of people considered for the study which was considered 10 years ago? What was age group of people who participated, only infants and aged people or only youth? Thus the argument is flawed unless it is bolstered by some concrete evidence.

Furthermore, the study entails bicyclists feel safer because of helmets and hence, endanger their lives resulting in accidents. There are several facets to this argument author has ignored. The study did not document the maintenance of bicycles, in case of a wretched bicycle deleterious events are inevitable. Similarly, the condition of roads were not recorded. Roads under inimical and pernicious shape may have contributed in mishaps of bicyclists. Also, it was not known, weather bicyclists themselves were responsible for accidents , for ignoring the traffic rules and breaking the law. Thus there are number of points to be considered and the author has undoubtedly ignored these facts which hinders the stated argument.

Finally, the point relating to educate the bicyclists about bicycle safety is valid. But the point inferring on ignorance to wear helmets is dubious. Helmets provide safety in any catastrophic events and safety saves sickness, suffering and sadness. Safety can be most expected or undertaken to take at most precaution unless there are some unfortunate events which are inevitable. Thus the study stated by author represents erroneous and invalid facts and is based on flawed and imprecise observations.