Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7,000 years ago, and within 3,000 years most of the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands were extinct. Previous archaeological findings have suggested that early humans generally relied on both fishing and hunting for food; since archaeologists have discovered numerous sites in the Kaliko Islands where the bones of fish were discarded, it is likely that the humans also hunted the mammals. Furthermore, researchers have uncovered simple tools, such as stone knives, that could be used for hunting. The only clear explanation is that humans caused the extinction of the various mammal species through excessive hunting.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author cites that humans arrived 7000 years in Kaiko islands and 3000 years ago most of the mammal species had been defunct due to the humans. It also states that humans relied on fish and mammals for satisfying their hunger whereas evidence like stones, knives and remains of fish and mammals bolsters the causes of extinction led by humans. The assertion to this author's statement should be scrutinized and reached the validity and soundness of the given citations.

Primarily, the author states ; humans relied on fish and mammals for food leading to remnant of fishes and mammals. This statement provides less justification and the evidence supporting the fact is also skewed and false. The author has brushed off other factors which may have lead to such situations. For example, natural disasters like floods or landslides, may have trolled mammals and fishes leaving them dead to decay. Also there may be large carnivorous animals or birds, whose survival may be dependent on these fishes and mammals.

Secondary, the stones and knives were discovered, in which the author inculcates that the knives were used for hunting. In this the author ignores several elements and solely focuses only on the case of coursing. These tools may be used for several purposes. To exemplify, usage of tools in construction of dwellings and constructions. Also these may be assisting in digging and agriculture or even creating and destroying fires. Creating utensils and defending from trespassers or invaders may been other contributions of such tools.

Hence, finally concluding the facet provided by the author that excessive hunting by humans ramified in extinction of numerous mammal species is invalid and imprecise and the evidence provided to fortify are unsound and erroneous.