Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could

The author claims that scandals are useful since they focus people’s attention on problems that no speaker or reformer ever could. From my point of view, although scandals may be embellished with some untrue details by media, the cores of them are reliable. Furthermore, it can trigger people’s motivation to discuss and explore the truth, which is very helpful not only for them to know what exactly happens in the world, but also for the whole society to introspect and find ways to improve.

Admittedly, media, the eye of the public towards the world, always publish exaggerated scandals to gain more attention. Sometimes they even add untrue details to make the vivid story. Thus, scandals, what we read what we learn from newspapers or TV, cannot be one hundred percent exact, and then it would mislead our attention. For instance, Zhao Zhengyong, a governor of Shannxi Province, was accused of corruption of 100 million dollars last year. Many media at that time tried their best to weave the vivid story about the luxurious life that a corrupt officer should live aimed to catch more focus from the public. However, they pay little attention to the much valuable one that the weakness of our political system in which Zhao could make such a large number of corruption and the far-reaching bad consequences to the local economy and the bureaucracy.

Nonetheless, every coin has two sides. although scandal can somewhat mislead people’s attention, it’s still has a true core, and it indeed stimulates and motivates people to probe into more truth. Unlike listening to speech which is passive-instilling processes, reading or hearing a scandal, can irritate people’s curiosity and lead them to discuss and even do some research. Finally, the whole truth will be exposed to the public under such efforts. Think about a professor always talk about that we need to take measures about food security, and a breaking scandal that many famous chain restaurants use swill-cooked dirty oil in their kitchen, obviously the latter would shock people better and lead them to discuss the food security. Then the public pressure may push the government to implement more strict regulations on restaurant and food process companies. Besides, nowadays another hot topic, academia miscount, which in fact is a long-term issue, but it successfully got people’s attention only 5 years ago. This is because a famous scientist, Ceon Ming, a member of the Chinese Academy of Science, was proved to fabricate data in 57 papers, and 14 of them are published in top journals, such as Science, Cell, etc.

The opponent of this statement may contend that the consequences of scandal are not always favorable, sometimes can make the society even disorder. This worst possible consequence may happen since some scandals are unimaginable and unacceptable to people. However, as soon as the government actively response and make some firm commitments to deal with the fact reflected by the scandal, the crowd’s rage would gradually decrease. This also gives the government a chance to show its crisis management. If it can perfectly address this problem, the rage may transform into people’s trust in their government. Besides, as the famous Chinese educationist, Confucius said, one fear to face problems can never be able to solve them. We need to let scandal be in the spotlight, and then we can think up ways to address it based on the combination of government and society.

To sum up, even though the exaggerated scandal may mislead people to some extent and lead to social chaos, its true core can perform a useful role in people’s attention to problems. Consequently, the extended discussion and government’s activity will reveal the truth and help us to better address this problem.