Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

With the 24-hour news cycle and ubuiqity of social media, scandals sometimes feel impossible to avoid. Scandals, by their very nature, are emotion-driven and impactful; it's what separates them merely from rumors or news stories. As such, they provide powerful avenues for revelation, discussion, and reflection in a society in ways that speakers often cannot match.

Scandals often focus on the institutions of our society: the wealthy, the powerful, or the influential. As such, they often reveal to the public information about those giants in our nation, informing our view of those in power. Take, for example, the recent sex trafficking allegations against Jeffrey Epstein. While the story is obviously still unfolding, the potential consequences are unimaginable. The current rumors of widespread involvement among those in power, if shown to be true, would rile tremendous outrage among the public, and rightfully so -- in our country, citizens deserve to better understand the character of those in charge. The Epstein scandal has, so far, gripped the public headspace harder than any speaker could: people can choose to attend a speech, but they can't avoid the presence of scandal on their myriad screens.

In addition, these scandals shedding light on a society's institutions can help keep these institutions accountable. For example, look at the recent school admissions scandal, which shed light on years of bribery and corruption among admissions offices in colleges across the nation. Not only did the scandal unveil to the public an intense network of corruption among the nation's wealthy, but it spurred on a movement of change. These schools paid fines for their injustices and, in the future, will hopefully face greater scrutiny in their admissions decisions.

Scandals also allow the public to send a message upward to those in charge by taking a stance on issues that arise. In recent years, the contagion-like series of police brutality scandals has sparked a fierce public movement for better accountability and restraint among law inforcement. Millions have expressed their opinions, and through this movement, the public has shown its sentiment to the government loud and clear. Speakers can reach thousands in a large venue; scandals like this one can reach millions. Again, the resolution to this scandal is hazy and distant, but only through continual scandal has the public been able to so strongly voice their stance.

But responses to scandals are often more mixed, and in these cases they force the public to reflect and introspect. When a Caucasian Texas student accused the government of "reverse racism" through its Affirmative Action program, many people threw their voice into the fray in support. Yet, many others championed the program as a pillar of inclusivity. The public nature of scandal thrust the issue in front of fresh eyes and forced countless minds to turn inwards and consult their values. Through this process, people were able to form new opinions and discover truths that they stood by, all due to the scandal that took over their Facebook feed.

Scandals can grip the public in a way that speakers struggle to do. They invoke debate, reveal wrongdoings, and give people a platform for expressing their belief. While scandals are all too often associated with the frivolous worlds of celebrity dating, distant relatives of public figures, and the like, they can provide an immensely powerful force in including the public in a society's operations.