Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

While the business manager's recommendation to refocus on weather and local news may be a boon to the station, their memorandum lacks the evidence needed to substantiate their argument. Their mention of customer complaints, ad revenue, and viewership levels all require specific figures and statistics to further evaluate the manager's claim.

To start off, the exact extent of the shift in programming would shed light on the context surrounding the recommendation to "restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level." If, say, the previous programming devoted half of the time to national news and half to local news, while the new programming focused only on national news, then the manager's recommendation would, at face value, seem quite reasonable. However, if the manager is suggesting to redevote all time to weather and local news, the shift would be much more drastic and should be seen with much more scrutiny.

The manager also points toward viewer complaints as a reason to rebalance the station's programming. However, they fail to provide enough detailed information on the complaints themselves. Were the complaints about the amount time spent on local news and weather coverage, or about other, unrelated aspects of the local segments? In the case of the latter, the complaints may not have anything to do with the increased national news coverage at all. Furthermore, the manager only mentions the complaints' focus, and not their quantity. Perhaps the number of complaints actually went down in the past year, or perhaps the complaints only came from a few passionate viewers. All of this information would provide vital context to the manager's recommendation.

In addition, the manager cites fears of decreased ad revenue as a reason for change, stating that local businesses withdrew advertising contracts with the station after its focus on national news; again, these claims lack vital context. The number of contracts cancelled, as well as their combined value, are necessary information in ascertaining the effect of the change. Furthermore, it's possible that the local advertising contracts were replaced with other contracts; thus, the total ad revenue over the past few years would provide insight into the impact the programming change had.

Finally, the manager claims that restoring time to weather and local news would be a move to attract more viewers to the program. The passage fails to mention any viewership numbers, before or after the past year's changes, making it impossible to understand the impact on viewers. Furthermore, data on viewership distribution within the broadcast would be valuable as well. Perhaps viewers only tune in for a specific, unrelated segment such as the lottery drawings or sports results; in this case, the manager's recommended change would not likely affect viewership at all.

All in all, the manager's claims on viewer complaints, ad revenue, and viewership numbers may be valid; however, the passage fails to adequately support these statements. As such, more information would be needed to fully evaluate the memorandum's argument.