A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

A required national curriculum for all students before college would, on the one hand, streamline the education system. It would simplify teacher training and development of teaching materials, and it would make it easier to enact curricular changes across the nation. The benefits of uniformity, however, would be far outweighed by the inefficiencies of homogeneity and its failure to tailor towards specific learning-based needs.

Children, on a very basic level, often require different learning environments that would not be offered by a nationalized curriculum. For example, some are born with learning disabilities such as dyslexia and would thrive in specialized learning environments. A national curriculum would eliminate these specially tailored curricula, leaving such children in extremely unfavorable situations. Furthermore, many students, especially in the United States, come from different national and linguistic backgrounds and also greatly benefit from more specialized teaching. Many schools offer English as a Second Language programs for this reason; nationalizing pre-college curriculum would eliminate these programs.

On a more basic level, students simply just learn better in different environments and thus belong in different curriculum tracks. Some students excel at math while others excel in the creative arts; these students currently benefit from advanced classes in different areas. Learning styles also vary among a student body, as some benefit more from visual aids, while others prefer to learn by doing or acting. Again, only through more tailored curricula can schools hope to maximize the good to students.

On top of different learning styles and requirements, the current decentralized curricula also affords students the freedom of choice. Private, parochial, and magnet high schools often offer different approaches to learning which allows students and their families to choose a path that may be better suited for them. For example, a child with a passion for art may apply or a creative arts school, while an aspiring writer may opt for a more liberal arts-oriented high school. Nationalizing school curricula would eliminate this choice, pigeonholing all children, regardless of interest, into the same set of classes.

Finally, a unified national curriculum would not allow for regional differences in classrooms that help students better understand their local community. Growing up, many students experienced programs tailored to their local region. For example, elementary and middle school students in Pennsylvania learned about their local Native American tribes and their marginalized history with early colonial settlers, while students in California focused in more detail on the immigration following the Gold Rush and the effects on the local populace. Lessons like these allow students to appreciate the history and culture of their hometowns while developing a deeper understanding of the specific community surrounding them; isn't that what school is all about?

All in all, a unified national curriculum would be a detriment to the educational system by blurring out differences in student learning preferences, passions, and local communities. While such a curriculum would make widespread educational reform easier and more efficient, the benefits of tailored, localized teaching much greater.