All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

The world of corporate management comes with delicate long-term decisions to make, and choices of outside consulting are no exception. Oftentimes, companies will resort to outside consultants much to the dismay of its employees. Some argue that in-house talent always has the know-how and dedication better suited to these strategic and operational decisions, but oftentimes, the decision is not so clear.

Of course, there are many circumstances where an employee-driven strategy trumps that prescribed by an outside firm. Employees often know the ins and outs of their own company better than a consulting firm would, which can be an important edge in its strategy. For example, a local farm stand in rural Pennsylvania may understand the intricate consumer mindset of the specific towns it caters towards; in this case, it may be better off listening its employees' suggestions.

Furthermore, employees are often more passionate about the business' overarching goals. Just as a hobbyist woodworker trusts their own work over a day-to-day contractor, these employees provide a well of deep knowledge and passion that outside consultants may not offer. A consultant may suggest cost-cutting software development practices as an efficiency improvement for a banking company; employees, however, may recognize the increased security risks and future overhead in that move and suggest more long-sighted improvements to the company. In this way, employees shine where consultants fall short.

On the other hand, consultants can surely provide expertise in areas where a company's own talent is lacking, which can provide a huge boon to its efficiency. Take, for example, the Pennsylvania farm stand from before. If it were to try to expand to an internet-driven sales model delivering across the country, it may benefit the company to call in the help of consultants with e-commerce experience. They could provide expertise in website design, marketing, and logistics that local employees may not have.

Furthermore, oftentimes a company's sophisticated corporate maneuvers may call for additional outside help. When was the last time a company underwrote its own IPO? Or fully represented itself in a lawsuit? In these circumstances, for better or for worse, consultants do provide a much-needed edge that companies may not be able to match no matter how much they listen to their employees.

Thus, while in many circumstances a company's employees can proffer valuable operational advice well-tailored to a company's needs, some challenges may fall outside the realm of employees' proficiencies. Then, calling for an outside consultant may be a smart move.