Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Children should spend most of their time on studying and playing and they shouldn t be required to help family with household chores such as cleaning and cooking

Children are always the special members of a family, since many parents love and cure about their children and help them avoid encountering any difficulties in their life. Thus, an interesting debate arises whether children should play and study instead of learning how to do household chores. As far as I am concerned, there is no doubt that parents should let their children learn and participate in household chores. My reasons and examples are given bellow.

Firstly, teaching children how to do household chores is a good way for parents to interact with their children. Nowadays, many parents are busy at work, as a consequence, they spent little time with their parents. But childhood is a very precious period and children need someone accompany them and solve their questions about the world. By teaching their children how to do household chores and doing chores together, parents can enhance the interaction with their children and know what they are thinking about, which is also benefit for children’s growth.

Secondly, doing household chores can help cultivate the responsibility of children, which is an essential character of a person in the modern society. By doing household chores, children will know he or she should be responsible for what he or she say and do. For example, if we ask children to clean their own tableware, then they might finish up their plate and not waste the food. As we can see in many requirements such as apply for universities and companies, responsibility is usually on the top of the list. Equipping with responsibility, children will be more comparative in the job market in the future.

Admittedly, I am not denying the value of playing and studying for children. Since playing with friends is children’s instinct and studying is a very important part of the childhood. However, if children do not know how to do household chores, it would be hard for them to live independently in the future.

To put in a nutshell, the importance of learning and doing household chores cannot be overestimated. There is an old saying in China: “a person who never clean up his house is unlikely to clean up the whole world”, which means a great success starts with single tiny tasks. Maybe household chores are the first step towards success.