A recently issued twenty year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin a medicine used to treat headaches

In this statement, the predictor claims that residents will suffer fewer headaches in the future due to a raise of seemingly useful medicine called Salicylates. However, before we reach a final decision about whether or not this conclusion is reasonable, we first need to consider several questions, and the answer to these questions would help us to better assess this prediction.

To begin with, one question which needs to be addressed is whether the two medicine belonging to the same chemical family have the same or similar therapeutic effect to a particular disease. To be more specific, from a chemical perspective, a very little nuance between two compounds can lead to a significant difference. It is possible that salicylates do not have a positive therapeutic effect on headaches, and even hurt people. Without ruling out these possibilities, the prediction cannot be cogent at all.

Moreover, in order to fully evaluate this prediction, we would also need to be informed about the answer to the question that is there a causal relationship between the rise of commercial use of salicylates and the steady decline in the average number of headaches. It is perfectly reasonable that with the development of economy and technology, residents of Menia gradually pay more attention to physical health and live a better lifestyle. And the possibility of suffering headaches for a person is getting decreased since his overall physical condition becomes better and better. If this is the case, it would undermine the author’s statement and render the prediction much less persuasive.

Finally, to support the claim of increasing salicylates supply, the author mentions that more companies are planning to add salicylates to food as flavor. However, another question that needs to be answered is whether there are some underneath aspects of using salicylates as a flavor additive, which may reduce the prospective profits, and these companies do not take them into consideration before. For example, it is possible that residents of Menia may dislike the food with salicylates because of its special taste. In addition, perhaps the producing procedure has a very difficult step, and it cannot be addressed now due to the limit of technology. Each of the scenarios, if true, would undermine the author’s statement.

To sum up, the prediction in the reading material relies on doubtful information that salicylates can cure headaches, that the rise of commercial use of salicylates responsible for the decline in the average number of reported headaches, that salicylates as flavor additive can finally come true and acceptable by local citizens. Only the aforementioned questions are adequately addressed can we effectively evaluate the prediction and reach a logical conclusion.