Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The author claims that the government should give funds to only the major cities since the nation's cultural traditions are preserved and initiated there. Every country's government should give funds to the cultural strong parts to become more developed. However, I neither agree with the claim nor with the reason because the statement claims that the government should give the funds to only the major cities.

First of all, it is the wrong policy to concentrate only on the major cities. Because most of the cultural tradition is preserved mostly in villages or small towns. For example, places like Varanasi and Mysore in India has a well-known history, tradition, architecture, and palaces. Also, most of the profit is generated from these places as tourist go to visit such places. Therefore it is necessary to give funds to such a place to keep the aesthetics of these places, as it also results in the growth of the economy of the nation.

Even though the government provides financial support to the major cities, other factors may be also responsible for the development of the cities. For instance, the management should be good not only providing funds will flourish the cities. Because the major cities are confronting more to corruption. Such practices in the major cities will not be beneficial for the cultural traditions to keep. Instead, the condition will get worse if these practices are continued in the future.

However, it is also specious that primarily in cities the cultural traditions are preserved and generated. It is true to some extent that, the major country around the world such as London and Paris are famous for the Tower of London and Eiffel Tower. As they are popular ones, these places will remain renown further also. But in small towns, for instance, villages in India where the traditions are vanishing day by day, if the government will not fund such places then the aesthetics of such places will completely vanish in upcoming years. And the future generations will get familiar with these traditions.

Thus, to keep the nation's cultural traditions, it is equally important to aid financial assistance to the major cities as well as to the minor cities. Again, providing the fund to the famous tourist places where the cultural activities are still pristine, it will result in the growth of an economy through the tourists.