Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when my grandparents were children

It is undeniable that technology has enhanced our lives to a superior level. After all, because of the technology we are living a life full of comfort and things get done easily than earlier times. Yet, there could be a debate over the life of today and the earlier times. Some people might argue that life at the time of our grandparents was comfortable. However, I strongly agree that life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when my grandparents were children. I feel this way for three main reasons which I will attempt to explain in the following paragraphs.

First of all, the automobiles have cut down our commuting time. In earlier times, when there were no automobiles available such as buses, vehicles, etc. the people have to walk for miles to go from one place to another. As a result, most of their time got waste in walking to the destination and they got exhausted. However, today we can travel long distances in a very short time and we save our energy, which can be used for any other purpose. From my personal experience, I had to reach to the college at 11.30 yesterday but as there are no buses available, I have to cover that distance by walk. And finally, I had reached college but at 12 o'clock and I started feeling exhausted and cannot concentrate on the lecture. The above incident clearly depicts my point.

Another major consideration is electronic machines for completing our daily chores such as washing machines, vacuüm cleaners, etc. Because of these machines, we can complete our daily chores easily, and when these machines were not available people have to struggle to do all these things. For instance, for washing clothes, we have to soak it, wash it, and finally rinse it but because of the washing machines, we just have to put the clothes in it and all the tasks are performed by a machine and we save lots of time and efforts. This indicates that machines has made our task easier.

Lastly, one should think about today's work routine. We just have to sit on the chair and work on the computers with the AC rooms. This is so much comfortable for us, rather than workers of earlier times. For example, in our grandparents time, no such facilities were available and they have to struggle a lot as a result, they can do their work efficiently. But, as we have so many facilities available in our office we can better focus on work. This points to the fact that our lives are more comfortable.

To be conclusive, there are a lot of facilities available today which were never there in our grandparent's times such as automobiles and electronic machines which make our life easier and comfortable than before. Therefore, I agree with the point that today's life is easier and comfortable that the lives of our grandparents.