What is the most useful way to help the natural environment?Plant more trees and build parksStores stop providing plastic bagsIncrease access to public transportation to reduce the number of cars on the road

In contemporary times, the rising proportion of greenhouse gases is a serious concern. There are numerous ways to control pollution and help the natural environment. Three such ways are mentioned in the statement above. Some people think that planting more trees and reducing plastic would minimize the harmful impact of vehicular emission, however, in my opinion, increasing the availability of public transportation would most helpful for the environment. Subsequent reasons throw light on the reasons which support my claim.

First, in order to minimize the immediate impact of pollution swiftly, time is a crucial factor. When it comes to construction time, public transportation take lesser time as compared to planting trees that would one day grow fully to nullify the impact equivalent to that of public service. According to a research, growing a full-fledged forest can take anywhere between 25-50 years. By that time, the rise in the number of personal vehical will be uncheckable by the current forest cover. For instance, in New Delhi, there is a severe problem of smog that claims thousands of lives each year. An ingenous even-odd solution implement across the metropolitan city proved to be a boon to curb the rising carbon dioxide in the atmosphere. Thus, setting up public transportation facilities is the best way to minimize the individual sources of pollution.

Secondly, another important factor is the space. Most of the polluted cities are metropolitan cities with very high population density, high density of man-made infrastructure which leaves very little scope for any solution to be reduce pollution. On the other hand, public transportation will reduce the number of vehicles on road. This would reduce the parking space required for personal vehicles and thus, leaving more space for plantation. For instance, in Mumbai, almost 2 million people commute through local trains, buses and metros. This in turn means thousands of cars, bikes and taxis off the road eventually serving two purpose reducing the sources of pollution and freeing up space for vegetation.

Lastly, aside from reducing air pollution, there are several other benefits of public transportation. For instance, the honking of cars increases the noise pollution hurting both humans and animals. Noise pollution, according to scientific finding, is also responsible for altering the migration pattern of birds. This disturbs the normal life cycle of the wildlife which eventually exherts pressure on nature. Thus, more public transportation services mean lesser strain on the nature.

To sum up, although there are numerous other ways to combat forces against nature, minimizing the number of personal vehicles is the most effective one. Public transportation services continue to be at the helm of controlling pollution and leading us towards sustainability.