In a study of the reading habits of Waymarsh citizens conducted by the University of Waymarsh, most respondents said that they preferred literary classics as reading material. However, a second study conducted by the same researchers found that the type o

The argument claims, based on the discrepancy, that the citizens misrepresented their reading habits. In doing so, it fails to pay heed to the fallacies and jumps to the conclusion. A brief scrutiny of each of the fallacy is done below.

Firstly, the author supports his/her argument with some studies. However, he/she fails to provide data pertaining to the studies. The details of the studies such as the demography of the area is missing which is pivotal before asserting anything about the reading habits of people. There could be a stark possibility that the survey encompassed only a particular age group or region. Additionally, we are still in darkness, whether the surveys or studies conducted employed similar statistical methods. So it is important to know more about the studies, which is missing from the argument.

Secondly, assuming that the two studies were conducted in a similar fashion, the time frame in which they were conducted is not mentioned. If the studies were conducted during different times they would yield different results. For example, Mr. X loves to read literary classics, this does not warrant that Mr. X will always read literary classics throughout his/her life. Having said that, it is quiet possible that when the second study was conducted Mr. X was spending time with mystery novel. Thus, it is of stark importance to know about the time frame during which the studies were conducted.

Lastly, even if we assume that we are provided with all the above mentioned data, it still does't necessitate that the citizens were misrepresenting their habits. For example, it could be possible that the citizens sourced their literary classics from other sources such as internet or borrowing from a peer and source their mystery novels from public libraries resulting in high number of checkouts. Even if we ignore all the fallacies and dearth of information, the argument still commits a logical error and reaches an erroneous conclusion.

To sum up, the argument is logically fallacious and fails to provided important data. The argument can be strengthened by addressing the above mentioned issue.