Do you agree or disagree that it is better to work for business owned by someone else than to work for the business of one’s own family.

Business, whether owned by self or someone else, requires expertise and dedication. Some believe that working in business owned by someone else is better for their own reasons. However, in my opinion, working for a family business is far better for an individual compared to working in business elsewhere. Following reasons back my claim by providing logical context and examples.

Firstly, an individual always has a better understanding of a family business compared to an external business. When someone joins a new company, he/she has to spend considerable amount of time before earning adequate understanding of the trade and decision making power. Moreover, in most cases, people join firms at an intermediate post and hence miss out on learning the nuances of other jobs that lie lower in the hierarchy. On the other hand, for instance, one observes the family business grow from scratch and more often than not spends time lending helping hands in the day-to-day activities. This helps one to work at all levels in a business which is crucial to understanding a business in and out.

Secondly, working in an owned business exposes an individual of risking one's own money and thus makes one more responsible and helps one grow better. In contrast, people working in groups in a company and thus the whole responsibility is disbursed on the whole team rather than an individual. Moreover, since the money invested is someone else's, the commitment to the job is lesser. For instance, a salaried employee working in a reputed firm is at least risk since, he is bound to be paid at the end of the month. However, in a family business, since the livelihood of an individual is at stake, he/she will work with more fever. Thus, the growth of an individual is stimulated more when he/she works in a family owned business.

Lastly, there are other benefits of managing a family business one such as independence. Most firms are rigidly structured and there is a definite boundaries that divide the responsibility of work. However, when one works in family business, one has more independence to make decisions as well work. The paradigm of the work can be altered effectively as per the business needs without any delay. Moreover, working independently helps one become more mature and passionate about his/her work. Thus, running a family business is always better that working in a business run by someone else.

To sum up, the above-mentioned advantages justify my point that for one's growth, both personally and professionally, one should work in family business and avoid working in a business owned by someone else.