The council of Maple County, concerned about the county’s becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

The argument asserts that maple county desires, appears to be, to control overdevelopment. For doing so, it plans to prevent the development of existing farmlands. thus, finally reaching the conclusion that prices of houses will surge, if it restricts the development of houses. however, in my views, the argument has lot of fallacies and hastily reaches a conclusion. Let us scrutinize the argument from different aspects.

Firstly, an assumption is made that all the aforementioned regions are alike. More data is required such as economic condition, social condition, prices of raw material etcetera. The argument, however fails to provide it. For instance, during the span of ten years as mentioned in the argument, people might have migrated to urban areas whereas the same did not happen in case of pine county. As we can see, one can understand the argument from different perspective unless further eludication is furnished which is vital before arriving to any conclusion.

Secondly, the author misses the elephant in the room and assumes that the economic conditions, current as well as fifteen years ago, are same. A county flourishing ten years ago could be suffering to meet ends today due to a plethora of reasons. For example, the authorities of chestnut county provided the citizens with incentives for buying homes in urban areas at the same time ensuring to maintain the same demand-supply ratio whereas the pine county was ignorant of the issue and thus, failed to address it. before, reaching any conclusion maple county should formulate a plan before implementing the restrictions the hints of are evidently missing from the argument.

Moving on, even if one assumes that all the above-mentioned is provided with, the argument throws an ambiguous term 'predict'. if one takes chestnut county as a model one will reach the conclusion that prices will skyrocket after restrictions however, if one follows pine county model one will be discouraged to implement the restrictions. Look at the ambiguity of the situation the argument does not provide enough about how it predicted that the prices will increase.

To sum up, the argument's ineffectiveness can be attributed to dearth of information and scarcity of logic. To make the argument stronger, the above-mentioned issues must be address.