The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

I strongly agree with the first half of the assertion. However, I disagree with the same intensity with the latter part. According to me, it is of stark importance to praise one's good actions at the same time reprimanding for the one's that are not appreciable.

Everyone is different. In context of school or college teaching, when the student are not yet ready for the world it is of prime importance that we apply this generalized statement with caution. As one negative remark can reduce the interest of a bright student who would be a promising star in a particular field. So before praising or reprimanding it is important to understand the student and that they take the scoldings in the same spirit as they are intended to be.

School teaching leads to self-teaching. Even after graduating most people continue to learn and develop their skills and become self-learner. In this context too this statement does not stand strong. For instance, if the ISRO(Indian Space Research Organisation) had not learnt from it's failed attempt to launch a close-orbit satellite in late 90's it would have never been able to attempt another one. It is of stark importance, for a self-leaner, to pay heed to his/her mistakes to develop. While it is important to cherish victories, it is also important to not eschew the setbacks.

Moving from the spatial aspect to the societal aspect, take an example of a post office where thousands of letters are processed and dispatched daily. What would happen if the technical team does not maintain the system and thousands of letters are stagnated in the post office due to a glitch in the system leading to error in printing addresses? That would be disasterous not only for the employees but for the people expecting timely delivery of their letters. This can applied in modern context too. What if a social networking website boasts about its new feature but fails to notice a privacy bug in it? That would again be catastrophic.

In a society, we are dependent on other beings. The world is full of example of how small misunderstanding can culminate into riots or worse. A professor who has not paid attention to his mistake is most likely to pass it on to the future generations and the magnitude of it will increase if not the same. This chain reaction can be avoided by investing enough time to reprimand, where needed, and praise when the moment comes in younger generation as well as ourselves. Lastly, it also important to note the course of action taken to achieve a positive result. Getting away with not buying a ticket for commuting by train might have a positive outcome for someone however, from a macroscopic point of view it is detrimental for the society. Thus, it is also important to take a positive path to reach a positive result.

To sum up my views, it is important to pay attention to the negative actions and equally important to pay heed to the course of action taken to reach the positive ones. Thus, I partially agree with the authors stand.